The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Travel or Held ball? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/61656-travel-held-ball.html)

jhc2010 Thu Feb 03, 2011 12:30am

Travel or Held ball?
 
A1 goes up for a shot with both hands on the ball. B1 gets a hand on the ball and pushes the ball and A1's momentum toward the ground. B1's hand slips off the ball. A1 lands on the ground with both hands still on the ball. Ruling?

just another ref Thu Feb 03, 2011 12:33am

If the touch by the defender prevented the release, held ball.

jhc2010 Thu Feb 03, 2011 12:37am

A1 never releases the ball. It's in both of his hands the entire time.

APG Thu Feb 03, 2011 12:46am

If it prevented A1 from releasing the ball, then it's a held ball. If you judge it didn't, travel.

BillyMac Thu Feb 03, 2011 07:36am

Let The Mythbusters Handle This ...
 
When an airborne player keeps control of an attempted shot that is blocked and is unable to release the ball and returns to the floor with it, that player has not traveled; it is a held ball. If, in this situation, the shooter loses control of the ball because of the block, then this is simply a blocked shot and play continues. If, in this situation, the defender simply touches the ball, and the airborne shooter returns to the floor holding the ball, it’s a traveling violation. When an airborne player tries for goal, sees that the try will be blocked, purposely drops the ball, and picks up the ball after it hits the floor, that player has traveled by starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor.

Adam Thu Feb 03, 2011 08:27am

Looks like a held ball to me.

Indianaref Thu Feb 03, 2011 08:54am

From your description it sounds like a held ball. Had a similar situation last week, instead of shooting, the player was attemping to pass the ball.

mbyron Thu Feb 03, 2011 10:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 725515)
If it prevented A1 from releasing the ball, then it's a held ball. If you judge it didn't, travel.

This is the key. The official must judge whether the contact prevented A1 from releasing the ball, and rule accordingly. So if the question comes down to: "how do you know whether the contact prevented A1 from releasing the ball?", the answer is: sometimes you just gotta ref!

bainsey Thu Feb 03, 2011 10:14am

See NFHS rule 4-25-2.

APG Thu Feb 03, 2011 12:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 725634)
This is the key. The official must judge whether the contact prevented A1 from releasing the ball, and rule accordingly. So if the question comes down to: "how do you know whether the contact prevented A1 from releasing the ball?", the answer is: sometimes you just gotta ref!

It's why we get paid the big bucks (unless you work in Louisiana)!

DesMoines Thu Feb 03, 2011 01:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by allpurposegamer (Post 725733)
it's why we get paid the big bucks (unless you work in louisiana)!

+1 apg :d


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1