The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   DQ Situation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/6164-dq-situation.html)

Ron Sun Nov 03, 2002 09:22pm

This one happened to me yesterday.

Tournament final........very close game.......final minutes.........

B1 drives to the basket, and is fouled by A1. B1 completes the free throw sequence, and play resumes. After a couple of trips up and down the floor, A1 drives to the basket, and is fouled. The foul is reported, and we're about to administer the free throws, when the horn sounds. A1, who is standing on the FT line, has 5 fouls.

What happens?

What we did........

My partner and I huddled, and quickly admitted that neither of us knew what was SUPPOSED to happen. We reasoned that no technical could be called, since an officials' error had allowed A1 to remain in the game with 5 fouls. We figured that A1 should no longer be allowed to play, so we had her removed, and allowed the coach of team A to insert a substitute of his choice to shoot the free throws.

BktBallRef Sun Nov 03, 2002 09:36pm

Works for me.

Jurassic Referee Mon Nov 04, 2002 03:32am

Quote:

Originally posted by Ron
We reasoned that no technical could be called, since an officials' error had allowed A1 to remain in the game with 5 fouls. We figured that A1 should no longer be allowed to play, so we had her removed, and allowed the coach of team A to insert a substitute of his choice to shoot the free throws.
Your logic was good,even though your terminology was wrong.It is not an officials' error,as defined in Rule 2-10-1.It is an inadvertant mistake by the scorer,and thus can be corrected at any time.Case book play 2.11.5Sit spells it out for you.
You did a good job of reasoning the play through to come up with the right solution.

Welcome to the board,Ron.

Ron Mon Nov 04, 2002 11:18am

Thanks for the CB reference.

Nevadaref Tue Nov 05, 2002 07:41am

Ron,
Your terminology actually is right since the scorer and timer are game officials as they are included in Rule 2 Officials and Their Duties, although they serve in an assisting role to the officials on the court. This is why we do not allow cheering from the table personnel during the game. They are supposed to be impartial officials.
Also, you handled the situation beautifully and got the play right. As soon as it is brought to your attention that a player is no longer eligible to play, you remove him/her, free throw shooter or not.
Consider a player who has four fouls who is fouled hard by B1 and then gets up and shoves B1. Let's say team A is in the bonus, so A1 would have a merited one-and-one coming, but if the official calls a technical foul on A1 for the shove that would be his fifth personal foul and he would have to be replaced before the free throws. Result: substitute will shoot the 1 and 1.
PS All this is spelled out in the Rule Book on page 19. Rule 2-11-11 Note 2.

[Edited by nevadaref on Nov 5th, 2002 at 08:29 AM]


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1