The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Is this right? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/61557-right.html)

midtnblu Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:25am

Is this right?
 
College game--

A1 throw-in frontcourt endline...

Throw-in is towards sideline, ball hits floor and bounces high and is headed OOB. A2, in frontcourt, runs to ball, jumps (both feet in air) then catches ball (definite 2-hand possession), throws ball to backcourt and then lands OOB. A3 goes to backcourt and retrieves. No whistle.

Is this right?

SamIAm Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by midtnblu (Post 724687)
College game--

A1 throw-in frontcourt endline...

Throw-in is towards sideline, ball hits floor and bounces high and is headed OOB. A2, in frontcourt, runs to ball, jumps (both feet in air) then catches ball (definite 2-hand possession), throws ball to backcourt and then lands OOB. A3 goes to backcourt and retrieves. No whistle.

Is this right?

Backcourt Violation. Someone else will probably provide a rules reference.
Essentially, Possession by A2 ends the throw-in and the throw-in exception. Now you have A2 with FC status and team control. Ball thrown into the BC,
A3 first to touch. Backcourt violation.

jdw3018 Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:32am

As long as it was clear A2 possessed the ball, BC violation. If it was unclear and could have been a bat, no violation.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1