The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NCAA Question - Kansas/Kansas State game (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/61506-ncaa-question-kansas-kansas-state-game.html)

jdw3018 Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:34am

NCAA Question - Kansas/Kansas State game
 
Early in Saturday's Kansas/K-State game there was a "put-back" dunk by a KSU player that entered the basket, passed completely through the rim, caught in the net and popped right back out.

It wasn't caught by the officials, and would have been very difficult to see in real time. Question - is this reviewable on video? I haven't looked at an NCAA-M rules book in quite a while, and don't think it is, but was curious. Correctable error time frame if so?

JRutledge Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 724174)
Early in Saturday's Kansas/K-State game there was a "put-back" dunk by a KSU player that entered the basket, passed completely through the rim, caught in the net and popped right back out.

It wasn't caught by the officials, and would have been very difficult to see in real time. Question - is this reviewable on video? I haven't looked at an NCAA-M rules book in quite a while, and don't think it is, but was curious. Correctable error time frame if so?

I do not think it is reviewable (I am pretty sure it is not), but you do not need to look at it considering the ball did not go through the basket, which by rule is the classification. This happen in a Sweet 16 a few years ago as well.

Peace

jdw3018 Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 724179)
I do not think it is reviewable (I am pretty sure it is not), but you do not need to look at it considering the ball did not go through the basket, which by rule is the classification. This happen in a Sweet 16 a few years ago as well.

Peace

Man, I had a brain block - I had said at first no basket, then convinced myself since that the ball just had to pass completely through the rim. I know better.

GoodwillRef Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:47am

Did you see in this game when 00 for Kansas dunked it and slap the crap out of the backboard...I was glad to see that whacked him.

APG Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:49pm

Bob Knight was wondering this same thing in the Texas vs. Texas A&M game tonight. In fact, they went to the monitor to review a play that had the announcing crew thinking they were reviewing it, but they were actually reviewing a clock malfunction.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1