The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Intentional Foul (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/61485-intentional-foul.html)

Johnny Ringo Mon Jan 31, 2011 12:37am

Intentional Foul
 
As time expires in the second quarter, A1 attempts a layup... shot was released before horn and a foul is called which is called intentional.

No time is on the clock.

Officials shoot two FTs and second quarter ends upon the completion of the second FT try.

Start of third quarter and the team with the arrow gets the ball.

Everything check out here?

just another ref Mon Jan 31, 2011 01:12am

yes

APG Mon Jan 31, 2011 01:35am

Correct. Penalties do not carry over between periods.

JugglingReferee Mon Jan 31, 2011 08:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 724050)
As time expires in the second quarter, A1 attempts a layup... shot was released before horn and a foul is called which is called intentional.

No time is on the clock.

Officials shoot two FTs and second quarter ends upon the completion of the second FT try.

Start of third quarter and the team with the arrow gets the ball.

Everything check out here?

All correct, except that the players should shoot the free throws. The officials can watch, though! :p

Beemer Mon Jan 31, 2011 04:44pm

Did the foul occur after the buzzer?

Adam Mon Jan 31, 2011 04:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Beemer (Post 724345)
Did the foul occur after the buzzer?

Doesn't matter.

Johnny Ringo Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:33pm

Foul then whistle just prior to horn sounding or as time expires.

Am I correct in saying it is ok to shoot FTs with no time on the clock?

RobbyinTN Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 724516)

Am I correct in saying it is ok to shoot FTs with no time on the clock?

Absolutely. Now if it were the end of the game and the FTs would have no bearing on the outcome of the game you would not shoot them but in this scenario, you would .

Let me add something to this. Even if this had not been an intentional foul, you would still shoot FTs (if warranted - shooting foul or bonus situation) after time has expired if the foul occurred prior to time expiring. You would clear the lane just like an intentional or technical leaving only the shooter.

Adam Tue Feb 01, 2011 08:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 724516)
Foul then whistle just prior to horn sounding or as time expires.

Given the fact that you had an airborne shooter (layup's almost always are) get fouled, the foul could have occurred after the horn and it still would be the right call.

jeffpea Sat Feb 05, 2011 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 724061)
Correct. Penalties do not carry over between periods.

AllPurposeGamer's post should be remembered in ALL situations....you cannot carry the penalty from one period (or half) over to another.

this little thought will "save" you a lot of time spent looking in the rule book and assignor-related phone calls...

stiffler3492 Sat Feb 05, 2011 01:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 724599)
Given the fact that you had an airborne shooter (layup's almost always are) get fouled, the foul could have occurred after the horn and it still would be the right call.

Let me work through this one.

I thought that we were supposed to ignore contact during a dead ball unless it's intentional or flagrant. Obviously, if the contact is intentional, we're getting that.

Let's say, though, that the shot goes up, the horn sounds, A1 is fouled (not intentionally or flargrantly), then the shot bounces off the rim and out.

Is the ball still live since there's a shot attempt? And the foul would warrant two shots with the lane cleared?

Jurassic Referee Sat Feb 05, 2011 02:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 726470)
Let's say, though, that the shot goes up, the horn sounds, A1 is fouled (not intentionally or flargrantly), then the shot bounces off the rim and out.

1) Is the ball still live since there's a shot attempt?

2) And the foul would warrant two shots with the lane cleared?

1) Yes. NFHS rule 6-7-6 EXCEPTION a

2) Yes. NFHS rule 4-19-1NOTE

Adam Sat Feb 05, 2011 06:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 726470)
I thought that we were supposed to ignore contact during a dead ball unless it's intentional or flagrant.

There is one other exception.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1