The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Swinging of Elbows Foul (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/61112-swinging-elbows-foul.html)

McMac Mon Jan 24, 2011 10:07pm

Swinging of Elbows Foul
 
Had an excellent JV matchup tonight! (First HS game I have worked with my new district). Had a call in the girls JV game of swinging the elbows with contact. I call the foul, team is in the double bonus. I originally call 2 shots. After the first shot (which was made), I questioned my decision of shooting, as I believe that it would fall under a player control foul (as the player had possession when she swung the elbows). My partner said to shoot the second shot, which we did.

First, would this be a PC foul and no shots?
Second, if it is a PC foul, could we have used correctable error to nullify the first made free throw?

Thanks for the help!

VaTerp Mon Jan 24, 2011 10:10pm

My understanding is that contact involving a player with the ball swinging elbows is ruled an INTENTIONAL foul.

So not only should you have awarded two shots, but also the ball opposite the table. Those with a rules book handy or less lazy than myself can give the proper citation but that's my understanding and what I called in a BV game about 2 weeks ago.

CDurham Mon Jan 24, 2011 10:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by VaTerp (Post 721270)
My understanding is that contact involving a player with the ball swinging elbows is ruled an INTENTIONAL foul.

So not only should you have awarded two shots, but also the ball opposite the table. Those with a rules book handy or less lazy than myself can give the proper citation but that's my understanding and what I called in a BV game about 2 weeks ago.

Does the NFHS address this or are you taking this from the NCAA? Not being critical just wondering.

jdw3018 Mon Jan 24, 2011 10:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by VaTerp (Post 721270)
My understanding is that contact involving a player with the ball swinging elbows is ruled an INTENTIONAL foul.

So not only should you have awarded two shots, but also the ball opposite the table. Those with a rules book handy or less lazy than myself can give the proper citation but that's my understanding and what I called in a BV game about 2 weeks ago.

Two things - first, a foul with the elbow is not always intentional, though it can be. Te NFHS does not have the new NCAA rule, though if the elbows are truly swinging ( and not just rotating with the ball) it could very likely be intentional or even flagrant.

Secondly, if it is intentional, it would be two shots and then the ball would be inbounded to the spot nearest the foul, not at the division line.

Finally, to answer the original post, if you simply had a common foul, it would be player control and no free throws should be attempted. You could have corrected this at the time you realized it under the correctable error rules.

RobbyinTN Mon Jan 24, 2011 10:40pm

I have never called a swinging of elbows as an intentional unless it was extremely forceful. Not saying it wouldn't be - it is one of those HTBT situations. Anyway, in your scenario it sounds like it was the offense doing the swinging so it is a PC foul and thus no shots. It would then be change of possession at POI. If it is called as an intentional, it is two shots and ball at POI, not opposite table side. It would only be opposite table side if it were a T.

EDIT: looks as if we were answering at the same time but at least you got the same answer twice :)

APG Mon Jan 24, 2011 10:47pm

Some people are mixing up the NCAA rule and NFHS. There is no mandate that excessively swinging the elbows with contact is an intentional foul (though you could very easily have one). One has to judge each play and decide on the merits of the play.

To the OP, you said it yourself. A player in control of the ball fouled an opponent. The only way the opponent would be shooting would be if you deemed the play to be an intentional or flagrant foul. Two shots and the ball out of bounds at the spot closest to where the foul occurred. If you reported the foul as a player control and for some reason free throw were shot, this would fall under awarding unmerited free throws which is correctable.

VaTerp Mon Jan 24, 2011 10:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 721282)
Two things - first, a foul with the elbow is not always intentional, though it can be. Te NFHS does not have the new NCAA rule, though if the elbows are truly swinging ( and not just rotating with the ball) it could very likely be intentional or even flagrant.

Secondly, if it is intentional, it would be two shots and then the ball would be inbounded to the spot nearest the foul, not at the division line.

Finally, to answer the original post, if you simply had a common foul, it would be player control and no free throws should be attempted. You could have corrected this at the time you realized it under the correctable error rules.

I stand corrected. I was confusing NFHS and NCAA in terms of the rule and also administered the ball at the wrong spot in my game.

To the OP, unless you had intentional or flagrant, which you didn't, you should have simply had a PC foul and not awarded any shots. Like me, you live and learn.

This was the first time I had this call since some of the recent rule changes (which I obviously need to clarify for myself). It was an easy call to make as far as deeming it intentional. The kid seemed irritated that the opposing player made an attempt to steal the ball, lined him up, and caught him square on the jaw.

jdw3018 Mon Jan 24, 2011 10:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RobbyinTN (Post 721287)
I have never called a swinging of elbows as an intentional unless it was extremely forceful. Not saying it wouldn't be - it is one of those HTBT situations. Anyway, in your scenario it sounds like it was the offense doing the swinging so it is a PC foul and thus no shots. It would then be change of possession at POI. If it is called as an intentional, it is two shots and ball at POI, not opposite table side. It would only be opposite table side if it were a T.

EDIT: looks as if we were answering at the same time but at least you got the same answer twice :)

None of this is POI. The ball would be put in play at the point nearest the foul, but that's not POI. POI in this situation would actually be A's ball, as they had possession when the whistle blew.

jdw3018 Mon Jan 24, 2011 10:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by VaTerp (Post 721290)
I stand corrected. I was confusing NFHS and NCAA in terms of the rule and also administered the ball at the wrong spot in my game.

To the OP, unless you had intentional or flagrant, which you didn't, you should have simply had a PC foul and not awarded any shots. Like me, you live and learn.

This was the first time I had this call since some of the recent rule changes (which I obviously need to clarify for myself). It was an easy call to make as far as deeming it intentional. The kid seemed irritated that the opposing player made an attempt to steal the ball, lined him up, and caught him square on the jaw.

Definitely sounds intentional, and could definitely consider flagrant if you are sure the player sized him up and tried to elbow him in the head.

McMac Mon Jan 24, 2011 11:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 721289)

To the OP, you said it yourself. A player in control of the ball fouled an opponent. The only way the opponent would be shooting would be if you deemed the play to be an intentional or flagrant foul. Two shots and the ball out of bounds at the spot closest to where the foul occurred. If you reported the foul as a player control and for some reason free throw were shot, this would fall under awarding unmerited free throws which is correctable.

I reported it as swinging of the elbows, not PC. Can I correct that part and cancel the unmerited free throw? I did not judge it as intentional or flagrant. The girl was moving her elbows with the ball in her hands trying to clear some space. She hit the opponent in the upper chest, shoulder area.

RobbyinTN Mon Jan 24, 2011 11:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by VaTerp (Post 721290)
I stand corrected. I was confusing NFHS and NCAA in terms of the rule and also administered the ball at the wrong spot in my game.

To the OP, unless you had intentional or flagrant, which you didn't, you should have simply had a PC foul and not awarded any shots. Like me, you live and learn.

This was the first time I had this call since some of the recent rule changes (which I obviously need to clarify for myself). It was an easy call to make as far as deeming it intentional. The kid seemed irritated that the opposing player made an attempt to steal the ball, lined him up, and caught him square on the jaw.

In that case it is an intentional as a minimum and could easily be a flagrant. It sounds like there was intent to injure and thus is fragrant and a T

RobbyinTN Mon Jan 24, 2011 11:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by McMac (Post 721294)
I reported it as swinging of the elbows, not PC. Can I correct that part and cancel the unmerited free throw? I did not judge it as intentional or flagrant. The girl was moving her elbows with the ball in her hands trying to clear some space. She hit the opponent in the upper chest, shoulder area.

Regardless of how you reported it, it was an offensive foul. Since you didn't call an intentional or fragrant, there are no foul shots. You correct it by canceling the free throws and giving the ball to the team at POI.

jdw3018 Mon Jan 24, 2011 11:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by McMac (Post 721294)
I reported it as swinging of the elbows, not PC. Can I correct that part and cancel the unmerited free throw? I did not judge it as intentional or flagrant. The girl was moving her elbows with the ball in her hands trying to clear some space. She hit the opponent in the upper chest, shoulder area.

Yes, you could have corrected it, up until the second live ball after the clock started after the free throws.

APG Mon Jan 24, 2011 11:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RobbyinTN (Post 721298)
Regardless of how you reported it, it was an offensive foul. Since you didn't call an intentional or fragrant, there are no foul shots. You correct it by canceling the free throws and giving the ball to the team at POI.

While that's correct for this situation, one must be careful with this line of thinking. It was a team/player control foul. Under NFHS, we could have free throws shot on what most would call an offensive foul if the foul was during a throw-in, yet we would shoot free throws.

RobbyinTN Mon Jan 24, 2011 11:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 721304)
While that's correct for this situation, one must be careful with this line of thinking. It was a team/player control foul. Under NFHS, we could have free throws shot on what most would call an offensive foul if the foul was during a throw-in, yet we would shoot free throws.

True - I was speaking of this particular scenario only.

VaTerp Mon Jan 24, 2011 11:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RobbyinTN (Post 721295)
In that case it is an intentional as a minimum and could easily be a flagrant. It sounds like there was intent to injure and thus is fragrant and a T

It was easily intentional but did not rise to the level of flagrant IMO. I'm very comfortable that I made the correct call even though I did not administer it 100% correctly.

As for the OP, after reading some of your posts it seems that you were in the mindset of "swinging elbow violation" and not foul. Obviously, the excessive swinging of the elbow without contact would have been a violation and no foul.

With contact, it is your judgment as to whether it is a common, intentional, or flagrant foul. If you do not deem it to rise to the level of intentional or flagrant, then it is a common foul and since the player had the ball it is a PC foul and no free throws are awarded. As noted, that is a correctable error.

Like I said before, we live and learn. I certainly learned something and got some clarification from this thread. Thanks for posting this.

jdw3018 Mon Jan 24, 2011 11:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by McMac (Post 721294)
I reported it as swinging of the elbows, not PC.

One more note - there is no foul for "swinging the elbows," nor a mechanic for reporting such in NFHS.

You may very well know this, but I just wanted to note it as there is no specific rule for fouling with an elbow vs any other body part.

NEohioref Tue Jan 25, 2011 01:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 721312)
One more note - there is no foul for "swinging the elbows," nor a mechanic for reporting such in NFHS.

You may very well know this, but I just wanted to note it as there is no specific rule for fouling with an elbow vs any other body part.

i agree its a violation unless you think its intentional or flagrant

jdw3018 Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NEohioref (Post 721322)
i agree its a violation unless you think its intentional or flagrant

That's not what I'm saying - You are right that there is a swinging the elbows violation. This is for if there is no contact.

If a player is swinging his elbows and makes contact, then you almost certainly have a common, intentional, or flagrant foul. But there is not a specific category of foul for swinging the elbows.

PG_Ref Tue Jan 25, 2011 12:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 721312)
One more note - there is no foul for "swinging the elbows," nor a mechanic for reporting such in NFHS.

There is a mechanic for "excessively swinging of elbows" violation ... see mechanic #27 in the NFHS manual and page 200 of the IAABO manual.

jdw3018 Tue Jan 25, 2011 12:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 721471)
There is a mechanic for "excessively swinging of elbows" violation ... see mechanic #27 in the NFHS manual and page 200 of the IAABO manual.

Yes - but not for fouling with the elbow. That's my point. I'm obviously not being very clear.

PG_Ref Tue Jan 25, 2011 12:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 721477)
Yes - but not for fouling with the elbow. That's my point. I'm obviously not being very clear.

Understood.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1