The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Travel or Not!?!?!?! (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/6109-travel-not.html)

w_sohl Mon Oct 28, 2002 11:37pm

Player A1 is caught in the corner on a half court trap by B1 and B2. Player A1 steps through the double with his/her non-pivot foot. Player A1 attempts a pass but before ball is released:

a) lifts pivot foot and passes ball before returning it to the floor

b) lifts pivot foot and returns it to the floor before releasing the ball


I thought I knew the answer to this question but a state rules interpreter (Illinois) made me question my judgement at a recent rules meeting that I attended. Please state your answer and reason why you think that is the correct answer. One scenario (b) is obvious to me, the other was the one that I still question the answer I was told at the rules meeting. Thak you all in advance for your input.

mick Mon Oct 28, 2002 11:44pm

What are your rules references?

BktBallRef Mon Oct 28, 2002 11:45pm

(a) is legal, (b) is traveling. Whether he's being pressured or not really doesn't have anything to do with it.

4-43-3a
After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot:
a. The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.


w_sohl Mon Oct 28, 2002 11:50pm

and there it was in black and white...

w_sohl Mon Oct 28, 2002 11:58pm

The original post was in regards to NFHS rule, sorry mick. Does the rule change at either the college, pro or international level?

mick Tue Oct 29, 2002 06:48am

Quote:

Originally posted by w_sohl
... Does the rule change at either the college, pro or international level?
Heck, w_,
As far as know, CCA and NFHS are the same with regard to your case. I haven't an idea about NBA or FIBA.
By knowing where you were in the book, I was gonna point the direction to go, whereas Tony gave you a ride. ;)
mick

RecRef Tue Oct 29, 2002 10:29am

Quote:

Originally posted by w_sohl
Player A1 is caught in the corner on a half court trap by B1 and B2. Player A1 steps through the double with his/her non-pivot foot. Player A1 attempts a pass but before ball is released:


:D Lets play the devil on this -
Steps through without making contact?
B1 and B2 are more than 3 feet apart?
A1 did not get his/her head and shoulders through before any contact?

Now we can talk about traveling.

mick Tue Oct 29, 2002 10:37am

Quote:

Originally posted by RecRef
Quote:

Originally posted by w_sohl
Player A1 is caught in the corner on a half court trap by B1 and B2. Player A1 steps through the double with his/her non-pivot foot. Player A1 attempts a pass but before ball is released:


:D Lets play the devil on this -
Steps through without making contact?
B1 and B2 are more than 3 feet apart?
A1 did not get his/her head and shoulders through before any contact?

Now we can talk about traveling.

Also, ...less than 3' apart. ;)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Oct 29, 2002 11:46pm

Quote:

Originally posted by w_sohl
The original post was in regards to NFHS rule, sorry mick. Does the rule change at either the college, pro or international level?
I do not know about NBA/WNBA but for NFHS, NCAA, and FIBA, the ruling is the same: (a)legal and (b) not legal.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1