![]() |
I have no idea
BV tonight. They paid homage to tomorrow's bears packer game with plenty of rough house stuff, but that's for another post.
I'm at table before game and visiting coach tells me he's going to use his delay game by lining up 4 players side by side, right on sideline facing stands and pass ball to each other and continue to run clock. As a crew, we decided at half if he attempts this and defender/defenders are within closely guarded 6 feet we would call a violation, regardless of player handing to each other as they are being closely guarded without a 'break'. Thankfully they won going away so didn't need to make a call. I'm really puzzled on this one. I know I've seen or heard this before I just got home and haven't looked at case or rule book, thought I'd throw it out here. I've seen this somewhere and can't recall. What say you??? |
9.10.1 SITUATION D:
Team A, while in possession of the ball in its frontcourt: (a) positions four players parallel with the sideline and they pass the ball from one to another with their arms reaching beyond the sideline plane; or (b) has four teammates surround dribbler A1. In both (a) and (b), the opponents are unable to get close to the ball. RULING: This is considered to be a closely-guarded situation and a violation in five seconds in both (a) and (b), if any B player is within 6 feet of the ball or within 6 feet of the screening teammates and is attempting to gain control of the ball. Preventing opponents from getting to the ball by using screening teammates becomes a violation in five seconds if the opponents are attempting to gain control. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Just Yesterday
Quote:
|
could 10.1.5 apply also?
|
Not if you call the five second violation.
|
Quote:
Now, 10-1-5 can't be used because there's a specific case play that tells you to simply count to 5 and call the violation. Chances are, it may well lead to 10-4-1a technical foul from the head coach. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03pm. |