The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Where's the Next Throw-In? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/6091-wheres-next-throw.html)

mj Fri Oct 25, 2002 09:10am

Team A inbounding from their frontcourt along the sideline. Throw-in goes into the back court and is first touched by A1 when she has a foot on the endline. Where is Team B's next throw-in from? Is it from the previous spot because Team A did not touch it inbounds? Or is it from the location where A1 touched it while she was out of bounds?

Thank you.
MJ

PS Be gentle on me it's my first post here.

ScottParks Fri Oct 25, 2002 09:32am

It's from the spot where A1 touched it in the backcourt. That's where the violation occurred.

mick Fri Oct 25, 2002 09:56am

Quote:

Originally posted by ScottParks
It's from the spot where A1 touched it in the backcourt. That's where the violation occurred.

Scott,
Why is the violation not on the thrower "for not throwing the ball so that it touches or is touched by another player on the court"?
mick

Barry C. Morris Fri Oct 25, 2002 10:06am

Mick,

Rule 9-2-2 clarifies parenthetically that the player on the court may be inbounds or out of bounds, when stating the violation for not passing to a player on the court.

mick Fri Oct 25, 2002 10:09am

Quote:

Originally posted by Barry C. Morris
Mick,

Rule 9-2-2 clarifies parenthetically that the player on the court may be inbounds or out of bounds, when stating the violation for not passing to a player on the court.


Thanks, Barry.
Udaman! ;)

Camron Rust Fri Oct 25, 2002 01:06pm

When this came up in the past, I came up with the following argument:

What if the player that touched the ball while standing on an OOB line was a defeneder? Would it be a violation on the thrower? If so, the defense would only need to touch the ball to get a violation on A. However, the throwin requirements don't differentiate between a the offense and defense. This has to be a violation on the person who touches the ball while OOB, not the thrower.

Mark Padgett Fri Oct 25, 2002 05:53pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
When this came up in the past, I came up with the following argument:

What if the player that touched the ball while standing on an OOB line was a defeneder? Would it be a violation on the thrower? If so, the defense would only need to touch the ball to get a violation on A. However, the throwin requirements don't differentiate between a the offense and defense. This has to be a violation on the person who touches the ball while OOB, not the thrower.

Yeah, Camron - but does the clock run? ;) (remember that discussion?)

ChuckElias Fri Oct 25, 2002 08:00pm

It depends: does the throw-in have to be legally touched, or just touched? :)

Chuck

DrakeM Fri Oct 25, 2002 09:24pm

We had this discussion in the WNBA this year as well.
Many felt that the throw in had to be back at the original spot due to the "ball not being thrown directly inbounds".

The final ruling was that is is thrown in at the spot where the player who caught it was OOB. Here's the rule...

"The ball is caused to go out-of-bounds by the last player to touch it before it goes out, provided it is out-of-bounds because of touching something other than a player. If the ball is out-of-bounds because of touching a player who is on or outside a boundary, such player caused it to go out."


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1