![]() |
6th Graders trying to look cool. They wanted to "roll" the ball to mid court to keep the clock off.
Problem was the "thrower-iner" set the ball on the ground and rolled it - flat- across the baseline - into play and towards mid court. I called illegal - warned and then blew whistle next time. Coach went off - he taught the play to the kids. After a time-out coach reengineered the play. He'd have the kid reach inbounds and set the ball on the floor - IN PLAY - to begin the roll. Yep, I whistled them and called them out of bounds. Player was out of bounds touching a ball on the court. Where' s all this in rule book? |
Quote:
|
You got it right. To be legal, he needs to relase the ball before it touches inbounds.
|
Cute.
Quote:
Right, or wrong, he was really thinking and really trying! mick |
If I had a nickel for each time I watched a 6th grader roll
the ball in to keep the clock from starting I would have a big pile of nickels. Never saw it done illegally, maybe I just wasn't paying close enough attention? |
U R Right.
I didn't mention the team rolling ... was up 42 - 6. |
I've seen just as bad - rolling the ball...with the clock running!
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47pm. |