The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   possesion (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60516-possesion.html)

furlu55 Sat Jan 15, 2011 12:36am

possesion
 
a1 attempts a shot and makes the basket....b2 fouls a2 after the shot has been released....does team A get 2 pts plus possesion again?

tjones1 Sat Jan 15, 2011 12:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by furlu55 (Post 716068)
a1 attempts a shot and makes the basket....b2 fouls a2 after the shot has been released....does team A get 2 pts plus possesion again?

Yup.

BktBallRef Sat Jan 15, 2011 12:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by furlu55 (Post 716068)
a1 attempts a shot and makes the basket....b2 fouls a2 after the shot has been released....does team A get 2 pts plus possesion again?


Count the basket. A gets the ball or FTs if in the bonus.

Rich Sat Jan 15, 2011 01:00am

We had such a situation tonight. Partner (T) had a 3 point shot by A, I had a player from B grab an A player and throw her aside in order to clear space for the rebound. Ended up being a six point play.

Cobra Sat Jan 15, 2011 01:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by furlu55 (Post 716068)
a1 attempts a shot and makes the basket....b2 fouls a2 after the shot has been released....does team A get 2 pts plus possesion again?

It depends on if the shooter has returned to the floor yet. If he is still in the air then it would be a shooting foul. If he has already returned to the floor then it is a common foul and A would get a throw in.

just another ref Sat Jan 15, 2011 02:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cobra (Post 716115)
It depends on if the shooter has returned to the floor yet. If he is still in the air then it would be a shooting foul. If he has already returned to the floor then it is a common foul and A would get a throw in.


Read it again. A1 was the shooter. A2 was the player who was fouled.

Cobra Sat Jan 15, 2011 02:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 716117)
Read it again. A1 was the shooter. A2 was the player who was fouled.

Ok, well still when the ball is released doesn't really matter. You should remember that you need to rule if the foul was before or after the motion which habitually precedes the try had begun.

Loudwhistle Sat Jan 15, 2011 02:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cobra (Post 716115)
It depends on if the shooter has returned to the floor yet. If he is still in the air then it would be a shooting foul. If he has already returned to the floor then it is a common foul and A would get a throw in.

totally lost me

Freddy Sat Jan 15, 2011 11:29am

That's a Big Ten-Four, Good Buddy
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by furlu55 (Post 716068)
a1 attempts a shot and makes the basket....b2 fouls a2 after the shot has been released....does team A get 2 pts plus possesion again?

Yep. Had it just last night. Quite common, actually.
One reason it's not called the times it occurs is because there are either four (in two-man) or six (in three-man) eyes on the ball.

TimTaylor Sat Jan 15, 2011 11:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cobra (Post 716118)
Ok, well still when the ball is released doesn't really matter. You should remember that you need to rule if the foul was before or after the motion which habitually precedes the try had begun.

Not at all relevant to the OP - foul was after release.

Cobra Sat Jan 15, 2011 12:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TimTaylor (Post 716300)
Not at all relevant to the OP - foul was after release.

Well we don't want people thinking the ball has to be released or it becomes dead on the foul.

Adam Sat Jan 15, 2011 01:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 716291)
Yep. Had it just last night. Quite common, actually.
One reason it's not called the times it occurs is because there are either four (in two-man) or six (in three-man) eyes on the ball.

Disagree, one of the main reasons it's not called often is there's no real advantage if the shot is made. Typically, when it's called, it's called because the fouled player was displaced by a lot or the game is getting chippy and a call needs to be made to clean things up.

Judtech Sun Jan 16, 2011 03:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 716291)
Yep. Had it just last night. Quite common, actually.
One reason it's not called the times it occurs is because there are either four (in two-man) or six (in three-man) eyes on the ball.

I didn't have a partner named FREDDY last nite:confused: Although mine was on a 3 pt shot and a push through a screen!

Raymond Sun Jan 16, 2011 04:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cobra (Post 716115)
It depends on if the shooter has returned to the floor yet. If he is still in the air then it would be a shooting foul. If he has already returned to the floor then it is a common foul and A would get a throw in.

:rolleyes:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cobra (Post 716326)
Well we don't want people thinking the ball has to be released or it becomes dead on the foul.

How about this instead? You were wrong.

TimTaylor Sun Jan 16, 2011 06:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by badnewsref (Post 716944)
:rolleyes:



How about this instead? You were wrong.

+1

Adam Sun Jan 16, 2011 06:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by badnewsref (Post 716944)
:rolleyes:



How about this instead? You were wrong.

+2

Cobra Sun Jan 16, 2011 06:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 716944)
:rolleyes:



How about this instead? You were wrong.

What is the big deal? I thought the guy who was shooting got fouled. Of course the ruling is going to be wrong if the situation is not understood.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 716987)
+2

You seem to get little rules wrong somewhat often when you understand the situation....saying personal foul when the term would be common foul....thinking after a flagrant foul a player becomes bench personnel after the player, not coach, is notified. It's not a big deal but you don't need to be getting on me because I misread a situation.

Adam Sun Jan 16, 2011 06:44pm

The difference is, I'll say I was wrong if I was rather than dance around it.

Raymond Sun Jan 16, 2011 06:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by cobra (Post 717005)
what is the big deal? I thought the guy who was shooting got fouled. Of course the ruling is going to be wrong if the situation is not understood.


....

r.i.f.

Cobra Sun Jan 16, 2011 06:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 717010)
The difference is, I'll say I was wrong if I was rather than dance around it.

I don't believe you said you were wrong either one of those times. And I'm not dancing around it. The person asking the question seemed to think that when the shot was released mattered in some way. I was just making sure it was clear that it does not. Getting something right, but for the wrong reason, is still a missed call.

Adam Sun Jan 16, 2011 06:58pm

got a link/reference on those situations? I vaguely recall the common/personal foul issue. More of a terminology mistake than a rule error, but still....

I remember doubting myself when commenting about the notification question and probably didn't correct myself properly.

And I didn't get that the OP was confused about whether the release mattered; only that it happened to be the situation described.

Cobra Sun Jan 16, 2011 07:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 717021)
got a link/reference on those situations? I vaguely recall the common/personal foul issue. More of a terminology mistake than a rule error, but still....

I remember doubting myself when commenting about the notification question and probably didn't correct myself properly.

And I didn't get that the OP was confused about whether the release mattered; only that it happened to be the situation described.

One there was an elbow foul being discussed. The other one was the video where the player attacked the official. But it isn't a big deal, everyone messes up stuff sometimes.

Loudwhistle Mon Jan 17, 2011 03:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cobra (Post 717005)
What is the big deal? I thought the guy who was shooting got fouled. Of course the ruling is going to be wrong if the situation is not understood.



You seem to get little rules wrong somewhat often when you understand the situation....saying personal foul when the term would be common foul....thinking after a flagrant foul a player becomes bench personnel after the player, not coach, is notified. It's not a big deal but you don't need to be getting on me because I misread a situation.

Totally disagree with this statement, "somewhat often" rarely wrong would be a much better way to describe Snaqwells comments on this forum, especially in regards to rules!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1