![]() |
Over and Back?
Here's the sitch: A1 is laying on the court so that she is directly on the division line with the ball. She then lets go of the ball, places it on the ground in the frontcourt, gets up with both feet in the backcourt and picks up the ball. Is this over and back?
I had someone try and tell me that it wasn't because the ball never had frontcourt status, but the way I see it the ball had frontcourt status when she placed it in the frontcourt and let go of it. Is there any rule that supports/disputes what we are arguing about? By the way, I didn't see this play, only had it explained to me, so if there are any clarifications that you want, I will do my best as to what was explained to me. |
This would be a travel under NFHS rules. :p
Also, the three points rule only applies to a dribbler. When the player put the ball on the ground in the frontcourt and got up, the ball achieved frontcourt status. |
Quote:
I thought the same thing... I knew that he was missing something in that 3 points rule. |
APG nailed this one...call the travel and you don't have to argue over and back with anyone...
But, to answer your question - the ball did gain frontcourt status when it was placed on the floor in the frontcourt. If a player is standing in backcourt and picks that ball up, then it is a violation. |
Another play that will not happen in the "real" world.
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24am. |