![]() |
Team Possession
Looking for some help from you experts. Here is the situation;
Team A is shooting a free throw and miss, both team A and B fight for the rebound. The ball is tipped around the key, and players fall to the ground with no one gaining possession. A whistle is blown and a three second call is made against team A. When the official is questioned about no possession, he explained that team A had “team possession” and was in the key for over three seconds. Therefore the call. Can someone help with this, this one got me. It seemed like the team possession rule was improperly used. Please correct me if I’m wrong, and where it is I should be looking in the rule book for this. Thanks All. |
Team control is established by a player holding or dribbling the ball inbounds. Without team control there can not be a 3 second call.
From the sounds of it, the official was incorrect in the OP. |
The call was wrong. If your description is accurate, there was no player or team control established.
|
Sure, I can help you....
Bad call.
|
Maybe he felt they gained possession at some point during the scrum.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
As described, he was just wrong. There is no TC on a try, and it does not get re-established until a player is either holding or dribbling the ball. |
Paradise Lost (John Milton) ...
Quote:
Was he wearing a belt? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21pm. |