The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Jump ball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60397-jump-ball.html)

Clark Kent Fri Jan 07, 2011 12:38pm

Jump ball
 
Quick question....A1 and B1 are in the circle to jump for the opening tip. A1 jumps tips the ball and it falls to the floor where B1 grabs it while still in the circle. 4-28 says that the jump ends when the ball hits a non-jumper or the floor. Is this above situation legal?

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Jan 07, 2011 12:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Clark Kent (Post 713110)
Quick question....A1 and B1 are in the circle to jump for the opening tip. A1 jumps tips the ball and it falls to the floor where B1 grabs it while still in the circle. 4-28 says that the jump ends when the ball hits a non-jumper or the floor. Is this above situation legal?


Yes.

MTD, Sr.

Adam Fri Jan 07, 2011 12:46pm

Yep, I actually blew this one once; almost. As soon as A1 caught it, my whistle went off on its own (I swear), and I immediately realized it was legal. Declared IW (don't tell Bainsey's R) and gave the throw-in to A (arrow to B) and we played on. B coach, in my hip pocket now after the throw-in, asked about it. Answer, "short version, once it hits the floor, it's a legal play."

Clark Kent Fri Jan 07, 2011 12:46pm

Thanks.

Raymond Fri Jan 07, 2011 03:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Clark Kent (Post 713110)
Quick question....A1 and B1 are in the circle to jump for the opening tip. A1 jumps tips the ball and it falls to the floor where B1 grabs it while still in the circle. 4-28 says that the jump ends when the ball hits a non-jumper or the floor. Is this above situation legal?

Not to pick on you, but this what happens when we overthink things. 4-28 says it all right there in what you quoted. Why would you doubt it?

That being said, I know this rule too b/c I wrongly blew a violation on it once.

RobbyinTN Fri Jan 07, 2011 03:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Clark Kent (Post 713110)
Quick question....A1 and B1 are in the circle to jump for the opening tip. A1 jumps tips the ball and it falls to the floor where B1 grabs it while still in the circle. 4-28 says that the jump ends when the ball hits a non-jumper or the floor. Is this above situation legal?

There is the reason it isn't a violation.

Back In The Saddle Sun Jan 09, 2011 06:46pm

I had this happen in a game, and correctly allowed play to continue. Coach of the team who did not get the ball wagered his entire year's salary that I was wrong. I thought about bringing the rule book out after the game, but decided it was too much trouble just to get a free cheeseburger and coke. ;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1