The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Foul/Violation during AP throw in (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60383-foul-violation-during-ap-throw.html)

fiasco Thu Jan 06, 2011 12:47pm

Foul/Violation during AP throw in
 
In high school, if there's a foul or violation by the opposing team during an AP throw in, the arrow is not reversed after the ensuing throw-in ends, correct?

Is the rule the same for college? If so, where can I find it in the rulebook??

Thanks

Indianaref Thu Jan 06, 2011 12:52pm

6-4-5

Edit: not sure about college

bob jenkins Thu Jan 06, 2011 01:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fiasco (Post 712595)
In high school, if there's a foul or violation by the opposing team during an AP throw in, the arrow is not reversed after the ensuing throw-in ends, correct?

Is the rule the same for college? If so, where can I find it in the rulebook??

Thanks

This rule is the same for college, and can be found in the same relative sections of the book (no NCAA books here today) -- Arrow, Throw-in (when it ends), etc.

Lotto Thu Jan 06, 2011 08:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fiasco (Post 712595)
I
Is the rule the same for college? If so, where can I find it in the rulebook??

Switch the arrow if the throw-in team commits a throw-in violation. Do not switch the arrow if there's a foul a violation that is not a throw-in violation before the throw-in ends.

Here are the relevant NCAA rules:

6-3.2. The direction of the alternating-possession arrow shall be reversed immediately after an alternating-possession throw-in ends. That throw-in shall end when a passed ball touches or is legally touched by an inbounds player or when a player, who is located on the playing court, touches and causes the ball to be out of bounds or when the throw-in team commits a throw-in violation

6-3.3. The opportunity to make an alternating-possession throw-in shall be lost when the throw-in team violates the throw-in provisions. (See Rule 9-5.)

6-3.4. A foul by either team during an alternating-possession throw-in shall not cause the throw-in team to lose the alternating-possession arrow.

Adam Thu Jan 06, 2011 10:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lotto (Post 712804)
Switch the arrow if the throw-in team commits a throw-in violation. Do not switch the arrow if there's a foul a violation that is not a throw-in violation before the throw-in ends.

Here are the relevant NCAA rules:

6-3.2. The direction of the alternating-possession arrow shall be reversed immediately after an alternating-possession throw-in ends. That throw-in shall end when a passed ball touches or is legally touched by an inbounds player or when a player, who is located on the playing court, touches and causes the ball to be out of bounds or when the throw-in team commits a throw-in violation

6-3.3. The opportunity to make an alternating-possession throw-in shall be lost when the throw-in team violates the throw-in provisions. (See Rule 9-5.)

6-3.4. A foul by either team during an alternating-possession throw-in shall not cause the throw-in team to lose the alternating-possession arrow.

Interesting. So, AP throwin for A. The first touch is a kicking violation on A2. Switch the arrow?

dahoopref Fri Jan 07, 2011 04:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 712837)
Interesting. So, AP throwin for A. The first touch is a kicking violation on A2. Switch the arrow?

No. The ball has to be "legally touched" and a kicked ball is not a legally touched ball.

Adam Fri Jan 07, 2011 04:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 713250)
No. The ball has to be "legally touched" and a kicked ball is not a legally touched ball.

Perhaps true in ncaa, but not in NFHS. 6-4-5: The opportunity to make an alternating-possession throw-in is lost if the throw-in team violates.

It makes no requirement for the violation to be a throw-in violation.

slow whistle Fri Jan 07, 2011 04:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 713250)
No. The ball has to be "legally touched" and a kicked ball is not a legally touched ball.

What if A1 makes an AP throw-in that lodges between the rim & backboard. Ball not legally touched, do they lose the arrow? (NFHS)

Scratch85 Fri Jan 07, 2011 04:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by slow whistle (Post 713255)
What if A1 makes an AP throw-in that lodges between the rim & backboard. Ball not legally touched, do they lose the arrow? (NFHS)

Yes. Throw in violation by Team A.

9.2.8


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1