CMHCoachNRef |
Wed Jan 05, 2011 08:59pm |
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
(Post 712394)
Because they differentiate in the rules between a mistake in record keeping ( a scorer's mistake) and the inadvertant setting aside of a rule(an official's mistake). See the language used in the RULING of case book play 2.11.10SitB.
If you have jumpers facing the wrong way and you put the ball into play, you can't have a do-over as per case book play 5.2.1. That's because the officials inadvertantly set aside a rule(aka screwed up). If you also screw up an AP and give the ball to the wrong team, you again can't go back and have a do-over after that AP throw-in ended as per case book play 6.4.1SitD. These are both examples of an official inadvertantly setting aside a rule. And in both cases the scorer did not make an error of any kind. And in the OP, the official wrongfully charged a technical foul for the DOG to the player instead of that player's team. That official also inadvertantly set aside a rule and the scorer did not make a mistake. The scorer entered onto the scoresheet exactly what the official told him to enter.
That's the difference between an official's mistake and a scorer's mistake by rule.
|
In the name of fairness, I hate this position. But, JR is correct in this case per my NFHS Rules contact. I really wish we could "fix" this type of mistake. unfortunately, we really cannot.
At the same time, I could understand Cam's idea of bringing the player back onto the court. In the name of fairness, I like the option. As an official on this crew, you are in trouble in any case for the first error. Compounding it with another error may get you in deeper trouble. Then again, once the water gets over your nose, it really doesn't matter a great deal how much higher the water gets.
The option that is most fair is sometimes NOT supported by rule -- in fact, can be prohibited.
|