The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 03, 2011, 06:16pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesMoines View Post
Had this play earlier this year. Less than 5 seconds, clock running, so B1 just steps across end line and wraps up thrower.
Tweet. T.
B1 looks at me, shrugs, and says, "What else was I supposed to do?"
Why the T and not the intentional? Did you go team T or player T?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 03, 2011, 06:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Why the T and not the intentional? Did you go team T or player T?
Right:
contacting thrower = INT
contacting ball = T
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 03, 2011, 07:43pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Right:
contacting thrower = INT
contacting ball = T
Yep, and crossing the line is simply a Team T (not assessed to the player).
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 03, 2011, 07:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 91
I went Team T. They'd already had a DOG warning and Team T for knocking the ball away after a score so they could set up for their press. Upon reflection, I suppose I could (and maybe should) have gone INT, but thought that since the action was a delay, that's where I went.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 03, 2011, 07:56pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesMoines View Post
I went Team T. They'd already had a DOG warning and Team T for knocking the ball away after a score so they could set up for their press. Upon reflection, I suppose I could (and maybe should) have gone INT, but thought that since the action was a delay, that's where I went.
Fair enough, I was wondering. I can make a lot of similar "upon reflection" statements.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 03, 2011, 08:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesMoines View Post
I went Team T. They'd already had a DOG warning and Team T for knocking the ball away after a score so they could set up for their press. Upon reflection, I suppose I could (and maybe should) have gone INT, but thought that since the action was a delay, that's where I went.
I understand your way of thinking about this, but you didn't make the correct ruling. You'll nail it next time.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 03, 2011, 10:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 91
Kicked this one.

Yep. We talked about it in our postgame. No one even questioned it at the time, but I knew I hadn't gotten it quite right. We should have recorded the INT on the B1, had A1 shoot two empty (rather than any player), then gone back to the end line.
Next question, can he move on the inbound? No, right?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 03, 2011, 10:41pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesMoines View Post
Yep. We talked about it in our postgame. No one even questioned it at the time, but I knew I hadn't gotten it quite right. We should have recorded the INT on the B1, had A1 shoot two empty (rather than any player), then gone back to the end line.
Next question, can he move on the inbound? No, right?
Spot throw-in. 7.5.7D

Rule 7-5-7b says "common foul."
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 04, 2011, 08:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesMoines View Post
Next question, can he move on the inbound? No, right?
Correct in FED; the inbounder can run the end-line in NCAA, I think.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
free thrower timeout Basketball 13 Tue Dec 28, 2010 08:54am
Thrower Commits Foul Fritz Basketball 6 Fri Feb 19, 2010 08:00pm
Disconcerting Thrower mbyron Basketball 14 Wed Dec 13, 2006 03:20am
Anger over referee's foul calls triggers a bigger foul after game BktBallRef Basketball 10 Mon Mar 06, 2006 02:36am
Thrower in delay...... Jeremy Hohn Basketball 7 Tue Nov 19, 2002 02:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1