The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   No foul on thrower-in at end of game? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60339-no-foul-thrower-end-game.html)

BktBallRef Mon Jan 03, 2011 10:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dennis Bronco (Post 711736)
I am trying to remember if I read about this situation on this forum.
With less than 5 seconds in the fourth quarter and the clock running, A1, whose team is ahead by one point, has the ball for a throw-in. B1 reaches across the plane and either knocks the ball out of A1's hands or fouls A1. I thought the officials were supposed to ignore the fouling attempt (unless it is obviously flagrant) and just let the clock run out. Is that's correct, what is the rule or case? I think the case may be from many years in the past. Thanks much.

Joined 6 years ago but this is your first post? Wow, you're a slow typist. ;)

BTW, it's "thrower," not "thrower-in."

Welcome aboard!

26 Year Gap Mon Jan 03, 2011 10:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DesMoines (Post 711775)
Thanks! Won't miss this one again.

As others have said, owning a rule is a good thing. You never buy the same model again.

Dennis Bronco Tue Jan 04, 2011 01:28am

BktBallRef-

I'd consider myself more of a "voyeuristic" than a slow typist when it comes to the BB Forum. Having said that and knowing the warped sense of humor :D that some members have from reading the posts over the last six years, I am prepared for some great comments. I am now going to go back into the shadows for another six years.

In all honesty I have really enjoyed the forum. It has provided a great deal of practical info and very good discussions. Keep up the good work

BillyMac Tue Jan 04, 2011 07:18am

Designated Spot ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 711774)
Spot throw-in. 7.5.7D

7.5.7 SITUATION D: Team A scores a field goal. B1 picks up the ball and steps
out of bounds at the end line to prepare for a throw-in. Before the throw-in is
completed, A2 is called for an intentional (or flagrant) foul on B3 near the end
line. RULING: B3 would shoot the two free throws for the intentional (or flagrant)
foul with the lane cleared. Team B will then have a designated spot throw-in on
the end line. (7-5-4b)

bob jenkins Tue Jan 04, 2011 08:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DesMoines (Post 711768)
Next question, can he move on the inbound? No, right?

Correct in FED; the inbounder can run the end-line in NCAA, I think.

Nevadaref Tue Jan 04, 2011 08:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 711834)
Correct in FED; the inbounder can run the end-line in NCAA, I think.

You are correct.

The NFHS made a change through a rules clarification a few years ago taking away the right to run following an intentional personal foul. I thought that it was a poor decision as the non-offending team loses something although the opponent did something illegal. That should never be the case.

The NCAA still allows the team to run the end line.

tref Tue Jan 04, 2011 09:45am

Ncaa-m & w?

bob jenkins Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 711846)
Ncaa-m & w?

afaik, Y

tref Tue Jan 04, 2011 04:31pm

Thanks!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1