The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   FT Mess Up (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60318-ft-mess-up.html)

Peach State Ref Fri Dec 31, 2010 10:37am

FT Mess Up
 
Situation at a game I witnessed recently -

A1 has 2 free throws, the lead throws the ball to the shooter without noticing that there is only one defender occuping 1 of the 2 low blocks.
A1 misses 1st free throw. Is this a violation or delay of game? Is the 1st attempt readministered?

Please reference NFHS rules & case plays

newera21 Fri Dec 31, 2010 10:56am

Violation.

Rule 8-1-4c; 9-1-4 Penalty 2b

bob jenkins Fri Dec 31, 2010 10:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Peach State Ref (Post 711151)
Situation at a game I witnessed recently -

A1 has 2 free throws, the lead throws the ball to the shooter without noticing that there is only one defender occuping 1 of the 2 low blocks.
A1 misses 1st free throw. Is this a violation or delay of game? Is the 1st attempt readministered?

Please reference NFHS rules & case plays

When was it noticed? If not until after the FT ended, then it's too late to have a violation.

Indianaref Fri Dec 31, 2010 11:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Peach State Ref (Post 711151)
Situation at a game I witnessed recently -

A1 has 2 free throws, the lead throws the ball to the shooter without noticing that there is only one defender occuping 1 of the 2 low blocks.
A1 misses 1st free throw. Is this a violation or delay of game? Is the 1st attempt readministered?

Please reference NFHS rules & case plays

Don't have books with me, but this is a violation. Once the ball is at the disposal of the free thrower, a delayed violation signal should be given by the lead official. Although the official should have noticed the player missing on the lower block, once the free thrower has the ball at his/her disposal, it's too late to correct.

stiffler3492 Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indianaref (Post 711158)
Don't have books with me, but this is a violation. Once the ball is at the disposal of the free thrower, a delayed violation signal should be given by the lead official. Although the official should have noticed the player missing on the lower block, once the free thrower has the ball at his/her disposal, it's too late to correct.

Let's say the administering official mentions to the B players on the floor that we need one more on the low block, and they refuse to comply.

Would you administer the FT with a delayed violation signal, or is there other action that should be taken?

tjones1 Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 711176)
Let's say the administering official mentions to the B players on the floor that we need one more on the low block, and they refuse to comply.

Would you administer the FT with a delayed violation signal, or is there other action that should be taken?

Technical Foul.... you don't need them anymore.

BillyMac Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:23pm

Resumption Of Play Procedure ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 711183)
Technical Foul.

Even after a timeout?

Adam Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 711176)
Let's say the administering official mentions to the B players on the floor that we need one more on the low block, and they refuse to comply.

Would you administer the FT with a delayed violation signal, or is there other action that should be taken?

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 711183)
Technical Foul.... you don't need them anymore.

Yep. Real simple at that point.

stiffler3492 Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 711183)
Technical Foul.... you don't need them anymore.

What rule/case are you applying?

tjones1 Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 711188)
Even after a timeout?

Where does it say that?

BillyMac Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:31pm

I Just Love Quoting This Guy, He Should Be In Bartlett's Familiar Quotations ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 711188)
Even after a timeout?

8-1-2: Following a time-out or intermission, the resumption-of-play
procedure may be used to prevent delay. The administering official will sound the
whistle to indicate play will resume. The ball shall be placed at the disposal of the
thrower or placed on the floor and the count shall begin. Either or both teams may
be charged with a violation. Following a violation by one or both teams, if the
offending team(s) continues to delay, a technical foul shall be ruled.

tjones1 Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 711190)
What rule/case are you applying?

Someone else will have to provide you a reference, stiffy. I don't have my books with me.

bob jenkins Fri Dec 31, 2010 01:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 711190)
What rule/case are you applying?

10-1-5b and 10.1.5C

stiffler3492 Fri Dec 31, 2010 01:03pm

Thank you Bob

Indianaref Fri Dec 31, 2010 01:14pm

Always listen to Bob:)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1