The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   free thrower (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60271-free-thrower.html)

timeout Mon Dec 27, 2010 05:23pm

free thrower
 
after the free thrower has the ball, he accidently dribbles the ball off his foot and it rolls down the lane.
what do we have?
nothing (do over)?
a bad shot?
violation?

grunewar Mon Dec 27, 2010 05:32pm

According to 9.1.1, you have a violation.

In reality however, depending on the level of ball, you might get a TWEET, TWEET, TWEET! and a reset.

JugglingReferee Mon Dec 27, 2010 05:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by timeout (Post 710326)
after the free thrower has the ball, he accidently dribbles the ball off his foot and it rolls down the lane.
what do we have?
nothing (do over)?
a bad shot?
violation?

Be paying attention and blow it dead asap. Reset the free throw; a new 10-second count, etc.

Jurassic Referee Mon Dec 27, 2010 05:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 710330)
According to 9.1.1, you have a violation.

In reality however, depending on the level of ball, you might get a TWEET, TWEET, TWEET! and a reset.

The level of ball should be below jv....or in a game that's outa sight.

BillyMac Mon Dec 27, 2010 05:46pm

Violation Or Do Over ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by timeout (Post 710326)
after the free thrower has the ball, he accidently dribbles the ball off his foot and it rolls down the lane. what do we have?
nothing (do over)?a bad shot? violation?

If the shooter had control after the lead bounced to to him: Violation.

If the shooter fumbled it after the lead bounced to to him without ever gaining control: Whistle and do over.

Wasn't there a recent interpretation on this that may have been a change from what we did in the past?

BillyMac Mon Dec 27, 2010 05:50pm

9.1.1 situation ...
 
A1, at the free-throw line to attempt a free throw: (a) muffs
the pass from the official and it rolls forward; or (b) while performing his/her
habitual dribbles prior to the release, accidentally allows the ball to deflect off
his/her foot into the lane. RULING: In (a), the official should sound the whistle to
prevent any violations and then start the free throw procedure again. No freethrow
violation should be called in this situation. In (b), a free-throw violation
shall be called on A1. (9-1-3a, e)

BktBallRef Mon Dec 27, 2010 07:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 710333)
Wasn't there a recent interpretation on this that may have been a change from what we did in the past?

2007-08 NFHS Case Book
9.1.1 SITUATION: A1, at the free throw line to attempt a free throw (a) muffs the pass from the official and it rolls forward; or (b) accidentally drops the ball before the throwing motion is started.

RULING: In (a) and (b) the official should sound the whistle to prevent any violations and then start the free throw procedure again. No free-throw violation should be called in this situation.

Welpe Mon Dec 27, 2010 07:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 710334)
A1, at the free-throw line to attempt a free throw: (a) muffs
the pass from the official and it rolls forward; or (b) while performing his/her
habitual dribbles prior to the release, accidentally allows the ball to deflect off
his/her foot into the lane. RULING: In (a), the official should sound the whistle to
prevent any violations and then start the free throw procedure again. No freethrow
violation should be called in this situation. In (b), a free-throw violation
shall be called on A1. (9-1-3a, e)

It also reads the same in the 2009-2010 casebook.

cmhjordan23 Tue Dec 28, 2010 12:12am

What about when free throw shooter dribbles ball, loses control but ball stays inside semi-circle and shooter retrieves it, is this a violation also?

deecee Tue Dec 28, 2010 01:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by cmhjordan23 (Post 710362)
What about when free throw shooter dribbles ball, loses control but ball stays inside semi-circle and shooter retrieves it, is this a violation also?

why would this be a violation?

just another ref Tue Dec 28, 2010 01:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 710363)
why would this be a violation?

It wouldn't.

deecee Tue Dec 28, 2010 01:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 710365)
It wouldn't.

I was hoping the question asker would come to that conclusion his/her self.

tianxia02 Tue Dec 28, 2010 06:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 710368)
I was hoping the question asker would come to that conclusion his/her self.

loses control but ball stays inside

BillyMac Tue Dec 28, 2010 08:54am

Pick A Prize From The Top Shelf ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 710342)
2007-08 NFHS Case Book
9.1.1 SITUATION: A1, at the free throw line to attempt a free throw (a) muffs the pass from the official and it rolls forward; or (b) accidentally drops the ball before the throwing motion is started. RULING: In (a) and (b) the official should sound the whistle to prevent any violations and then start the free throw procedure again. No free-throw violation should be called in this situation.

Bingo. Thanks. I knew that there was a recent change.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1