![]() |
Question for you NCAA dudes (and/or dudettes)
Watching the Memphis - Georgetown game tonight and a T was called on a Memphis player for hanging on the rim after a dunk. The PA announcer said three times that it was not a personal foul. Why he felt he had to announce that, I don't know. But here's my question - in NCAA mens, does a player T count as one of the five fouls toward DQ, as it does in FED? Is the rule the same for NCAA womens? Thanks.
BTW - both of the announcers supported the official on the call!!! I thought I was going to fall off my chair. |
In NCAAM, hanging on the rim is a Class B technical. It does not count toward the team foul total or toward a player's 5 fouls for disqualification. Three Class B technical fouls results in ejection.
|
I'm trying to verify, but I think hanging on the rim is a class B technical foul, which does not count towards the 5.
|
Quote:
|
How many classes of technicals are there?
Do any of them count the same as a personal toward the five for DQ? Is there a class that requires only two for DQ? Are the classes kept separately for DQ or can they be combined? I'm referring to NCAAM. Thanks again. |
Quote:
2. Class A counts towards the 5 for disqualification 3. Class A 4. Two Class A or a combination of Class A and B that equals 3. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
NCAA: 10-6.1f |
So, A & B, are sorta like direct & indirect with respect to HS coaches getting the heave-ho?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Unsporting is class A.
Conduct not becoming but not quite amounting to unsporting is class B.... faces in face of opponent, hanging on rim etc. |
Quote:
Quote:
Peace |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54pm. |