The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Team T? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60233-team-t.html)

BktBallRef Wed Dec 22, 2010 08:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 709297)
Situation: A14 is shooting a 1-and-1 for a common foul. Lead bounces ball to shooter, then horn buzzes, then B24 runs on the court without being beckoned. B12 on the near block starts to leave the game, and B24 starts to take his spot on the lane. We whistle and decide we have to assess a T.

Two possibilities:
10-1-6: it's a team technical to "Have more than five team members participating simultaneously."

10-2-2: it's a player technical for a sub to enter the court "Without being beckoned by an official, except between quarters."

So it sounds like an obvious violation of 10-2-2, since nobody beckoned the sub. However, look at 10.2.1(A):

10.2.1 SITUATION A: Substitute A1 enters the court without reporting to the
scorer. The infraction is discovered: (a) before the ball becomes live; or (b) after
the ball becomes live. RULING: In (a), a technical foul is charged to A1. In (b), it
is too late to penalize A1.

Since the ball was live when we "discovered" the infraction, it seems to be "too late" to penalize B24. The same principle appears in 10.2.2: you call a player T only when the ball is dead and the sub enters without being beckoned.

So here's the question: do we have different fouls depending on whether the ball is live? If it's a dead ball, we penalize under 10-2-2 with a player T, but if it's a live ball (as in our sitch) we penalize under 10-1-6 with a team T?

The case play is saying that the player enters while the ball is dead and isn't discovered until after it is live. In that case, it's too late to penalize.

Your play is different. The sub enters while the ball is live. The T is for entering without being beckoned.

mbyron Wed Dec 22, 2010 10:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 709514)
The case play is saying that the player enters while the ball is dead and isn't discovered until after it is live. In that case, it's too late to penalize.

Your play is different. The sub enters while the ball is live. The T is for entering without being beckoned.

Ok, that sounds good to me.

BillyMac Wed Dec 22, 2010 10:49pm

Does This Help ???
 
If a team has more than five team members participating simultaneously, then a team technical foul is charged. This infraction is penalized if it is discovered by the officials while being violated, in other words, while more than five team members are currently participating as players in the game.

If a substitute enters the court without reporting to the scorer; and without being beckoned by an official, except between periods, then a technical foul shall be charged to the substitute. Each illegal substitute gets one technical foul per instance, whether they didn’t report, or entered the court without being beckoned, or both. However, two technical fouls are not charged if the illegal substitute doesn’t report and enters without being beckoned. A substitute technical foul is charged if recognized by an official before the ball becomes live following the first dead ball. Once the ball becomes live, the substitute is a legal player at that point, the foul is not penalized.

Adam Wed Dec 22, 2010 10:51pm

Shows Up When The Work Is Done
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 709556)
If a team has more than five team members participating simultaneously, then a team technical foul is charged. This infraction is penalized if it is discovered by the officials while being violated, in other words, while more than five team members are currently participating as players in the game.

If a substitute enters the court without reporting to the scorer; and without being beckoned by an official, except between periods, then a technical foul shall be charged to the substitute. Each illegal substitute gets one technical foul per instance, whether they didn’t report, or entered the court without being beckoned, or both. However, two technical fouls are not charged if the illegal substitute doesn’t report and enters without being beckoned. A substitute technical foul is charged if recognized by an official before the ball becomes live following the first dead ball. Once the ball becomes live, the substitute is a legal player at that point, the foul is not penalized.

Billy, I'm going to start calling you "Blister."

BillyMac Wed Dec 22, 2010 10:55pm

Always A Day Late And A Dime Short ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 709559)
Shows Up When The Work Is Done.

Sorry. Some people have to work for a living. And I had a rare (for Connecticut) Wednesday night game tonight.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1