The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Quick Question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60226-quick-question.html)

Scratch85 Tue Dec 21, 2010 09:49pm

Quick Question
 
A1 driving to the basket. Attempts a dunk and gets fouled. Hangs on the rim and gets a T and it is her/her 5th foul disqualifying him/her. Does A1 get to attempt the FT's?

chartrusepengui Tue Dec 21, 2010 09:54pm

Why did he get a T for hanging on the Rim. I guess I need more info. Did he hang on rim because he was fouled and worried about injury. What kind of foul?

In any case - if he was fouled while dunking - yes he would shoot FT with lane cleared. The T occurred after the initial foul and those FT and subsequent inbound to opposing team would follow his initial FT for the foul on the dunk.

Shoot the FT in same order as fouls occurred.

chartrusepengui Tue Dec 21, 2010 09:56pm

oops - forgot the part about the 5th foul. Am still wondering about whether the T was merited or not.

If T was given to him and he is DQ'd then his substitute would shoot the FT's with lane cleared, and subsequently Team B would shoot the technical FT with lane cleared and get ball as well.

Adam Tue Dec 21, 2010 09:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chartrusepengui (Post 709140)
oops - forgot the part about the 5th foul. Am still wondering about whether the T was merited or not.

If T was given to him and he is DQ'd then his substitute would shoot the FT's with lane cleared, and subsequently Team B would shoot the technical FT with lane cleared and get ball as well.

Just a hypothetical. Could have easily said he was taunting his fouler after the call.

RobbyinTN Tue Dec 21, 2010 10:01pm

Quick question. Granted he fouled out BUT he fouled out AFTER he was fouled so wouldn't he shoot his free throws and then his sub would come into the game?

Adam Tue Dec 21, 2010 10:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RobbyinTN (Post 709143)
Quick question. Granted he fouled out BUT he fouled out AFTER he was fouled so wouldn't he shoot his free throws and then his sub would come into the game?

No, his sub shoots.

chartrusepengui Tue Dec 21, 2010 10:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 709142)
Just a hypothetical. Could have easily said he was taunting his fouler after the call.

Thanks - wasn't even thinking along those lines but makes a lot of sense.

Scratch85 Tue Dec 21, 2010 10:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chartrusepengui (Post 709140)
Am still wondering about whether the T was merited or not.

Whether it was warranted or not, it was called. Forget that part. My question is only; does A1 get to shoot his FT's. I have a frosty brew riding on this!

Whether you guys (y'all as Snaqs says) believe it or not, you are the final say when it comes to rules interp involving wagers in my neck of the woods! :p

RobbyinTN Tue Dec 21, 2010 10:05pm

OK. I have never had this scenario so fortunately I have not had to make the call.

chartrusepengui Tue Dec 21, 2010 10:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 709148)
Whether it was warranted or not, it was called. Forget that part. My question is only; does A1 get to shoot his FT's. I have a frosty brew riding on this!

Whether you guys (y'all as Snaqs says) believe it or not, you are the final say when it comes to rules interp involving wagers in my neck of the woods! :p

Nope - sub shoots. Hoping the brew tastes gooooooood!

Adam Tue Dec 21, 2010 10:09pm

Case 8.2 comment
Rule 8-2: if such player must withdraw because of injury or disqualification, his substitute shall....

Scratch85 Tue Dec 21, 2010 10:43pm

Nuff said!
 
Thanks to all! My adversary is lurking and has already conceded. :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1