The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw In Contact (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60191-throw-contact.html)

CDurham Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:15pm

Throw In Contact
 
A1 drives to the basket and scores a lay up. However, he falls to the ground and slides to the wall. B2 picks up the ball and begins the throw in. Meanwhile A1 is still getting up from the floor from his layup. A1 contacts B2 as he gets up from the floor and turns around causing B2 to:

1) Lose the ball for the throw in
2) Fall either onto the court or not

What do you have?

TimTaylor Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CDurham (Post 708484)
A1 drives to the basket and scores a lay up. However, he falls to the ground and slides to the wall. B2 picks up the ball and begins the throw in. Meanwhile A1 is still getting up from the floor from his layup. A1 contacts B2 as he gets up from the floor and turns around causing B2 to:

1) Lose the ball for the throw in
2) Fall either onto the court or not

What do you have?

Depends...was the contact intentional or inadvertent.

CDurham Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TimTaylor (Post 708486)
Depends...was the contact intentional or inadvertent.

It was purely accidental. However, if it causes B2 to a disadvantage it has to be something. But would it fall under the automatic "Intentional" for contacting the player throwing the ball in?

Adam Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:36pm

Without having a chance to check the book, my first thought is intentional for the reasoning you cite. OTOH, I'm not sure this play is what the rule was intended to cover.

just another ref Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:38pm

The intentional foul penalty in this situation refers specifically to an opponent who reaches through the boundary plane and fouls the thrower. This is clearly not the case here.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CDurham (Post 708484)
A1 drives to the basket and scores a lay up. However, he falls to the ground and slides to the wall. B2 picks up the ball and begins the throw in. Meanwhile A1 is still getting up from the floor from his layup. A1 contacts B2 as he gets up from the floor and turns around causing B2 to:

1) Lose the ball for the throw in
2) Fall either onto the court or not

What do you have?


As I right this response, there have only been three posts to your question. What I am about to say is how I handle such situations. If a player goes down in the manner that you have described A1 doing, I am inclined to stop play with my whistle and make sure that A1 can continue to play. I know that if a player was moving fast enough when he hit the floor to slide in the the wall like your describe, then he just might be slightly shaken up to say the least. This is just me, because I know that I have wear the med-alert that is advertised on late night television where the "mature" person yells: "Help I've fallen and I can't get up." :D

MTD, Sr.

CDurham Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 708498)
The intentional foul penalty in this situation refers specifically to an opponent who reaches through the boundary plane and fouls the thrower. This is clearly not the case here.

But to argue the matter. What is the difference in reaching through the plane and fouling and being "in the plane" and fouling. Both instances involve the player coming into the "plane space" and fouling. I just saw the play today, though no contact occurred when A1 got up.

TimTaylor Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CDurham (Post 708488)
It was purely accidental. However, if it causes B2 to a disadvantage it has to be something. But would it fall under the automatic "Intentional" for contacting the player throwing the ball in?

Agree with just another ref - it doesn't fit the intentional definition. If it was purely accidental, I'd probably just blow the whistle and give it back to B for a throw in (can run the endline).

CDurham Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TimTaylor (Post 708506)
Agree with just another ref - it doesn't fit the intentional definition. If it was purely accidental, I'd probably just blow the whistle and give it back to A for a throw in (can run the endline).

I agree with not fitting the intentional, but in my previous post I can see the other side also. However, it has to be something if it causes a disadvantage and I don't know if what you described would work IMO.

Adam Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TimTaylor (Post 708506)
Agree with just another ref - it doesn't fit the intentional definition. If it was purely accidental, I'd probably just blow the whistle and give it back to B for a throw in (can run the endline).

While I can agree with not going intentional, I don't think you can just go with a do-over. Call the common foul. Being clumsy may not be illegal, but it also doesn't absolve the new defender from responsibility for the contact.

refiator Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:48pm

I agree with Mark. Play should be stopped and and the throw in restarted with end line privileges, unless you deem the act was truly intentional.

CDurham Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 708509)
While I can agree with not going intentional, I don't think you can just go with a do-over. Call the common foul. Being clumsy may not be illegal, but it also doesn't absolve the new defender from responsibility for the contact.

So a common foul can be called for contact on the other side of the throw in plane?

Adam Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CDurham (Post 708512)
So a common foul can be called for contact on the other side of the throw in plane?

Why not?

just another ref Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TimTaylor (Post 708506)
If it was purely accidental, I'd probably just blow the whistle and give it back to B for a throw in (can run the endline).

I don't see how you could do that. If A1 accidentally contacts B1 in the process of getting up and reentering the court, I see no reason why you couldn't have a common foul. If he tries to make a play and contacts the thrower, I think you could go with the intentional, no matter where A1 was standing when the contact occurred.

CDurham Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 708513)
Why not?

I'm not disagreeing I have just never seen it. Which again doesnt mean it can't happen. In my mind, I guess from case plays of a player "reaching in" and fouling the throw inner results in an Intentional Foul, I am thinking it can only by intentional.

CDurham Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 708514)
I don't see how you could do that. If A1 accidentally contacts B1 in the process of getting up and reentering the court, I see no reason why you couldn't have a common foul. If he tries to make a play and contacts the thrower, I think you could go with the intentional, no matter where A1 was standing when the contact occurred.

I like that description and I think that is the missing link. Accidental but causing disadvantage = Common

Making an attempt at the ball and contact = Intentional

refiator Sun Dec 19, 2010 12:02am

Think about the nature and intent of the rule and act. I can't see even a common foul in this case. .

TimTaylor Sun Dec 19, 2010 12:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 708514)
I don't see how you could do that. If A1 accidentally contacts B1 in the process of getting up and reentering the court, I see no reason why you couldn't have a common foul. If he tries to make a play and contacts the thrower, I think you could go with the intentional, no matter where A1 was standing when the contact occurred.

It depends on the situation - too many unknown variables. Was B2 standing over/too close to A1 for him to be able to get up without interfering. Was A1 slow in getting up indicating a possible injury? In that case, if B2 hasn't yet inbounded the ball, stopping play for a possible injury is fully justified as MTD indicated. It's one of those HTBT situations, and since it's purely hypothetical there's no right answer. It could be common, could be intentional or could be nothing depending on the specifics of the situation.

just another ref Sun Dec 19, 2010 12:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by TimTaylor (Post 708526)
It depends on the situation - too many unknown variables. Was B2 standing over/too close to A1 for him to be able to get up without interfering. Was A1 slow in getting up indicating a possible injury? In that case, if B2 hasn't yet inbounded the ball, stopping play for a possible injury is fully justified as MTD indicated. It's one of those HTBT situations, and since it's purely hypothetical there's no right answer. It could be common, could be intentional or could be nothing depending on the specifics of the situation.

I thought that was what we were doing, covering the variables. If A1 is attempting to return to the court and B1 makes a point of contacting him, you could conceivably have a foul on B1.

Camron Rust Sun Dec 19, 2010 03:40am

I'm not calling an IF on this one....but I'm also not letting B1 lose the ball.

I'm inclined to just kill the play and restart.

Jurassic Referee Sun Dec 19, 2010 07:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 708547)
I'm not calling an IF on this one....but I'm also not letting B1 lose the ball.

I'm inclined to just kill the play and restart.

+1 with Camron and Tim if the contact was deemed accidental without intent.

mbyron Sun Dec 19, 2010 07:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by TimTaylor (Post 708506)
Agree with just another ref - it doesn't fit the intentional definition. If it was purely accidental, I'd probably just blow the whistle and give it back to B for a throw in (can run the endline).

+1

Even though the ball is live in this situation, I see it as akin to dead-ball contact: ignore it unless the foul would be intentional or flagrant.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1