The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   First elbow (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60122-first-elbow.html)

Scrapper1 Mon Dec 13, 2010 06:39pm

First elbow
 
I had my first intentional foul for elbow contact on Saturday. D3 men's game, the play was exactly like you would expect. A5 comes down with a rebound, pivots with elbows out -- misses on the first pivot -- and connects with B5's chin on the next pivot.

Actually was pretty easy, and I guess we've talked about it so much that it didn't even require the mental double-take.

BillyMac Mon Dec 13, 2010 06:54pm

Don't Put Anything Smaller Than Your Elbow In Your Ear ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 707269)
I had my first intentional foul for elbow contact on Saturday. D3 men's game.

Do you believe that this "Intentional Foul Elbow Rule" will filter down to the high school game?

mbyron Mon Dec 13, 2010 07:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 707271)
Do you believe that this "Intentional Foul Elbow Rule" will filter down to the high school game?

I wouldn't be surprised. NFHS always errs on the side of safety.

Back In The Saddle Mon Dec 13, 2010 07:42pm

Is anybody seeing a problem with elbows at the HS level?

Refsmitty Mon Dec 13, 2010 09:13pm

Called the violation
 
Called it last year - this year just seeing the swinging - more so with girls than guys - must be the way they are taught. Have warned so far...

JRutledge Mon Dec 13, 2010 09:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 707286)
Is anybody seeing a problem with elbows at the HS level?

Nope.

Peace

JRutledge Mon Dec 13, 2010 09:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 707271)
Do you believe that this "Intentional Foul Elbow Rule" will filter down to the high school game?

Eventually.

Peace

Judtech Mon Dec 13, 2010 10:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 707269)
I had my first intentional foul for elbow contact on Saturday. D3 men's game, the play was exactly like you would expect. A5 comes down with a rebound, pivots with elbows out -- misses on the first pivot -- and connects with B5's chin on the next pivot.

Actually was pretty easy, and I guess we've talked about it so much that it didn't even require the mental double-take.

Just to play devil's advocate, but why was this not considered a 'basketball move'? If the player pivoted and the elbows went with the rest of the body, it sounds like a good play.
We have been stressed to differentiate between basketball and non basketball moves. THe direction we have been given is that if the player moves the elbows with the waist/torso, then we go with INT/FLAG. If they move with the body as part of a pivot, then we have incidental. But that is the difficult thing, IMO, about this call.
As for moving to the HS level, I will say YES, and soon. NFHS is more law suit conscious than the NCAA.

justacoach Tue Dec 14, 2010 12:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Judtech (Post 707322)
Just to play devil's advocate, but why was this not considered a 'basketball move'? If the player pivoted and the elbows went with the rest of the body, it sounds like a good play.
We have been stressed to differentiate between basketball and non basketball moves. THe direction we have been given is that if the player moves the elbows with the waist/torso, then we go with INT/FLAG. If they move with the body as part of a pivot, then we have incidental. But that is the difficult thing, IMO, about this call.
As for moving to the HS level, I will say YES, and soon. NFHS is more law suit conscious than the NCAA.

This was a D3 game and the NCAA virtually mandates that any elbow contact above the shoulder WILL get called AT LEAST an INT, possible flagrant.
At the FED level, there are provisions for calling a violation for excessive elbows without contact. With contact, I think we are still expected to use our judgement as to the call. Never saw anything from FED that makes this call an 'absolute' as in NCAA.
There is also a distinction in Fed rules as to the difference between 'swinging elbows' and a full body pivot which includes the elbows. I've seen many a defender stick his face into a pivoting ballhandler and get a bloody snoot and a well deserved foul. Not necessarily incidental in this case, could be PC, INT, incidental, or flagrant based on judgement, not automatic.
9-13 pg 57
4-24-8 pg 33

Camron Rust Tue Dec 14, 2010 04:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Judtech (Post 707322)
Just to play devil's advocate, but why was this not considered a 'basketball move'? If the player pivoted and the elbows went with the rest of the body, it sounds like a good play.
We have been stressed to differentiate between basketball and non basketball moves. THe direction we have been given is that if the player moves the elbows with the waist/torso, then we go with INT/FLAG. If they move with the body as part of a pivot, then we have incidental. But that is the difficult thing, IMO, about this call.
As for moving to the HS level, I will say YES, and soon. NFHS is more law suit conscious than the NCAA.

If the elbows are up and out (basically level with the ball) and catch someone in the face, I'm going to have a foul almost every time....maybe not intentional, but a foul. The only reason they're up that is to threaten, if not make, contact. If they're not up and out but more below the ball in a more natural position, I'd be more inclined to go with incidental if they're moving with the body.

bob jenkins Tue Dec 14, 2010 08:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Refsmitty (Post 707301)
Called it last year - this year just seeing the swinging - more so with girls than guys - must be the way they are taught. Have warned so far...

I think we see it more with girls because:

1) Their hands are smaller and weaker, so they can't hold onto the ball as well.

2) They don't jump as high, so they don't secure the rebound "above" the other players.

3) Because of 1 and 2, the team not getting the rebound initially (the defense) takes a swipe at the ball.

4) We as officials do not do a good job of getting the defense off / away from the offense once the ball is secure.

5) To keep the ball, the offense puts the elbows out and pivots. The pivot sometimes turns into a swing.

curlingrocks Tue Dec 14, 2010 08:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by justacoach (Post 707334)
This was a D3 game and the NCAA virtually mandates that any elbow contact above the shoulder WILL get called AT LEAST an INT, possible flagrant.
At the FED level, there are provisions for calling a violation for excessive elbows without contact. With contact, I think we are still expected to use our judgement as to the call. Never saw anything from FED that makes this call an 'absolute' as in NCAA.
There is also a distinction in Fed rules as to the difference between 'swinging elbows' and a full body pivot which includes the elbows. I've seen many a defender stick his face into a pivoting ballhandler and get a bloody snoot and a well deserved foul. Not necessarily incidental in this case, could be PC, INT, incidental, or flagrant based on judgement, not automatic.
9-13 pg 57
4-24-8 pg 33

That 1st statement is not true. What the new rule pertains to is enforcement of the penalty associated with what we, as officials, already deem a foul. What constitutes a foul has not changed. If you would have called a foul on that play last year then yes, the least you have is an intentional foul, however this new rule doesn't change what a foul is.

Judtech Tue Dec 14, 2010 09:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 707351)
If the elbows are up and out (basically level with the ball) and catch someone in the face, I'm going to have a foul almost every time....maybe not intentional, but a foul. The only reason they're up that is to threaten, if not make, contact. If they're not up and out but more below the ball in a more natural position, I'd be more inclined to go with incidental if they're moving with the body.

We actually may be on the same page. I highlighted the part that was discussed ad infinitum over the summer. You use the word "Natural". Which begs the question, what is "natural"? If they secure the rebound under their chin, then naturally their elbows will go out. In the OP it sounded like the elbows were moving with the body.
It is sorta like "We have a new penalty for the same old foul." But I think more officials than not will err on the side of caution.

RookieDude Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 707286)
Is anybody seeing a problem with elbows at the HS level?

...maybe not a "problem"...but, had a boys H.S. Varsity player last week-end throw, pivot, swing his elbow three times and in the order described.

Our 3-whistle crew missed the first "throw"...A1 had the ball in his front court down in the corner and apparently threw and elbow while he had the ball. I was Lead, and as I was handing the ball to B1 for a Throw-in, he asked me to watch A1 "throwing elbows". This was confirmed by officials, in the stands, that told us at half-time A1 did indeed "throw" an elbow.

The second "pivot" with elbow...I passed on, as C, because I did not think it was intentional or "up high", and there was no contact.

The third "swing" came as A1 was dribbling into the key and pivoted with a swing that made contact with B1's chest. I got the "player control" foul, from the Lead position. (There was no double whistle)

Scrapper1 Tue Dec 14, 2010 03:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by justacoach (Post 707334)
This was a D3 game and the NCAA virtually mandates that any elbow contact above the shoulder WILL get called AT LEAST an INT, possible flagrant.

Quote:

Originally Posted by curlingrocks (Post 707363)
That 1st statement is not true. What the new rule pertains to is enforcement of the penalty associated with what we, as officials, already deem a foul. What constitutes a foul has not changed. If you would have called a foul on that play last year then yes, the least you have is an intentional foul, however this new rule doesn't change what a foul is.

My understanding is that if the elbow is moving, it's a foul. A moving elbow that contacts the neck or head of an opponent is NOT incidental.

You mention contact that would have been a foul last year, but I don't think that's correct, to be honest. I think the problem is that there was too much elbow contact that was not being called a foul in previous years. Officials took the attitude, "Well, if you don't want to get hit, then you shouldn't have had your head in there." The rule change doesn't allow us to do that anymore. JMHO.

Camron Rust Tue Dec 14, 2010 05:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Judtech (Post 707364)
We actually may be on the same page. I highlighted the part that was discussed ad infinitum over the summer. You use the word "Natural". Which begs the question, what is "natural"? If they secure the rebound under their chin, then naturally their elbows will go out. In the OP it sounded like the elbows were moving with the body.
It is sorta like "We have a new penalty for the same old foul." But I think more officials than not will err on the side of caution.

Actually, they wouldn't be, at least not naturally. It is a deliberate stance meant to guard access to the ball with the elbows. The "natural" position of your elbows when holding an object near you chin will be down and by the ribs. The only "natural" position that puts a players elbows near another players face (similar height) is when the ball is being held over the head.

curlingrocks Wed Dec 15, 2010 09:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 707460)
My understanding is that if the elbow is moving, it's a foul. A moving elbow that contacts the neck or head of an opponent is NOT incidental.

You mention contact that would have been a foul last year, but I don't think that's correct, to be honest. I think the problem is that there was too much elbow contact that was not being called a foul in previous years. Officials took the attitude, "Well, if you don't want to get hit, then you shouldn't have had your head in there." The rule change doesn't allow us to do that anymore. JMHO.

A moving elbow doesn't necessarily have to be a foul as others have discussed already in this thread. If a player is pivoting and not swinging his/her elbows then there is contact we don't necessarily need a foul. Was an elbow moving in this situation? Yes, but just because someone is hit by an elbow that doesn't automatically mean a foul. The player is entitled to his/her position on the court. Now if I am swinging my elbows outside of my body and make contact with another player anywhere on their body, we should have a foul.

Coming straight from Debbie Williamson at summer camps and our rules meetings before the season started, what was a foul last year, is a foul this year. The only thing that has changed is the penalty associated with a foul committed by a player's moving elbow that makes contact with a person's head.

Scrapper1 Wed Dec 15, 2010 09:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by curlingrocks (Post 707562)
A moving elbow doesn't necessarily have to be a foul

We're just going to disagree on this, I guess. Everything I have seen and heard (pre-season video, Arbiter updates, etc) says that if the elbow is moving and makes contact above the shoulder, it's an intentional foul. If you want to pick a nit and say if it's so slight that it's hard to tell if it really connected then you can pass, I guess I'll agree. But if that elbow is moving, even in a normal basketball movement, and makes contact with the head or neck of an opponent, my understanding is that it's not incidental, period.

mbyron Wed Dec 15, 2010 09:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by curlingrocks (Post 707562)
Now if I am swinging my elbows outside of my body and make contact with another player anywhere on their body, we should have a foul.

I think that this might be the source of your confusion. Players who are "swinging elbows" necessarily swing them outside of their vertical space. So though I agree with your statement here, I disagree with the implicit supposition that a player might swing the elbows and initiate contact that is not a foul.

A player who pivots with elbows tucked into the body might end up contacting an opponent in a way that is not a foul, but that won't be contact by the elbows. It will be with the arm, body, etc.

I think it's a pretty safe proposition that swinging elbows + contact = foul. I take it that the reliability of this proposition explains why NFHS makes swinging elbows + no contact = violation.

Camron Rust Wed Dec 15, 2010 02:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by curlingrocks (Post 707562)
A moving elbow doesn't necessarily have to be a foul as others have discussed already in this thread. If a player is pivoting and not swinging his/her elbows then there is contact we don't necessarily need a foul. Was an elbow moving in this situation? Yes, but just because someone is hit by an elbow that doesn't automatically mean a foul. The player is entitled to his/her position on the court. Now if I am swinging my elbows outside of my body and make contact with another player anywhere on their body, we should have a foul.

Moving elbows that make contact have absolutely ZERO to do with a player being entitle to his/her position on the court. If they're moving the elbows and hit someone, they've encroached on someone else's space. The space you're entitle to is exactly the space you currently occupy, not that plus a few inches/feet to pivot around.

Judtech Wed Dec 15, 2010 02:40pm

I agree on Curling with this one. Perhaps because we probably sat in the same classroom and didn't even know it. But the Big Dog Debbie spent a lot of time going over what type of elbow contact was a foul and what was considered a "basketball play" Further, the assignor of the major leagues around here demonstrated what WAS and WASN'T a 'foul'. To be honest some of us found it ironic that we were just told that the FOUL hasn't changed, but the PENALTY has, then we get a demonstration. However, I thought it was great on a larger sense that theoretically we are all now on the same page. One of the specific plays mentioned was the OP's play. If a rebounder secures the rebound under their chin, pivots and the elbows are the same speed as the rest of the body, we shouldn't have a foul. Now if the torso and elbows move faster then the rest of the body, we have a dealers choice of Flagrant or Intentional. There was also a play where the defender had her arms up and bent, and she collided with the offensive player. THAT was a fun one!

Jurassic Referee Wed Dec 15, 2010 03:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Judtech (Post 707627)
If a rebounder secures the rebound under their chin, pivots and the elbows are the same speed as the rest of the body, we shouldn't have a foul.

I have never in my life ever seen a rebounder come down with his elbows locked in that position under their chin. In my experience, they usually bring them up into that position after they get the rebound. And if they do, that ain't a natural stance; the elbows are well outside the vertical plane of the rebounder's body.

We disagree.

bob jenkins Wed Dec 15, 2010 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Judtech (Post 707627)
Now if the torso and elbows move faster then the rest of the body, we have a dealers choice of Flagrant or Intentional.

Hmmm... not at all what I heard (at a different meeting, obviously).

Judtech Wed Dec 15, 2010 05:26pm

JR - What? We disagree? I am sure the board is suprised!;) I will say that "under the chin" should maybe read "in the neighborhood of the chin". Also, further clarification may be needed on when the 'elbows go out" Granted, MOST rebounds have a player extending their arms over their heads to grab the rebound. It is then that they secure it, which is where the rub comes. This is somthing that got rather heated when discussed, especially with the coaches. Their concern, and a valid one, is how are they supposed to teach a rebounder to protect the ball? Most coaches, around here, and at least a few schools in the midwest, teach the method I described. Eventually, the key became how fast were the elbows moving. If they are swinging them, then we F or I.
BJ - What did you hear? Enquiring minds want to know!

Scrapper1 Wed Dec 15, 2010 09:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Judtech (Post 707627)
1) But the Big Dog Debbie spent a lot of time going over what type of elbow contact was a foul and what was considered a "basketball play"

2) If a rebounder secures the rebound under their chin, pivots and the elbows are the same speed as the rest of the body, we shouldn't have a foul.

1) I'm sorry, but whether it's a "basketball play" or not is irrelevant. I don't know who Debbie is, but she's just wrong on the rule. Perhaps there is a different Approved Ruling for the Women's side, but by rule, the distinction of making a basketball play has no bearing on whether it's a foul or not.

2) This is simply not true. The play you describe must be an intentional foul. Here is part of the most recent bulletin from John Adams and Art Hyland:

Quote:

Memo from the National Coordinator - November 30, 2010
Tuesday, November 30, 2010
To: NCAA Men's Basketball Officials
From: John W. Adams and Art Hyland

Greetings:

Both Art Hyland and I have been inundated with questions involving what officials may and may not do as it pertains to one type of play, i.e., illegal contact above the shoulders as a result of non-excessive swinging the elbows during a "basketball play". The penalty for this type of play was changed to an intentional foul.
It doesn't get any clearer than that. A basketball play that results in elbow contact above the shoulders is an intentional foul.

Quote:

3) Now if the torso and elbows move faster then the rest of the body, we have a dealers choice of Flagrant or Intentional.
This again is simply false. If the elbows swing faster than the torso, that is (by definition) excessive; and if contact results anywhere on the opponent, it is by rule a flagrant foul. Again, I defer to John Adams:

Quote:

By rule, officials can only call a violation for excessively swinging the elbows. If you call this violation and go to the monitor and discover there was contact, you have no choice but to call it a flagrant foul and eject the offending player since the violation you called was for excessively swinging the elbows.
I don't mean to sound condescending, but you really need to check back with somebody who knows these rules and clarify what you heard (or thought you heard) from Debbie.

Judtech Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:41pm

SCRAP - Based on the email you posted, it looks like the Men's side is taking a more absolute position on this than on the Women's side. So while they may be "false" on the Men's side, on the Women's side we still deal with the vagaries of what constitutes a "basketball play". Probably because we have smarter people on this side!!:p
And "Debbie" is the Rules secretary for the Women's side. As for the assignors they would be the regional D1,D2 and D3 conference assignors who I work for.

Jurassic Referee Thu Dec 16, 2010 07:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Judtech (Post 707767)
SCRAP - Based on the email you posted, it looks like the Men's side is taking a more absolute position on this than on the Women's side. So while they may be "false" on the Men's side, on the Women's side we still deal with the vagaries of what constitutes a "basketball play".

Then how come the pertinent elbow rules are written the exact same for NCAA Men and Women and there is nothing official anywhere that I can find that can back up your little flights of fancy.

Scrappy cites actual NCAA rules. You cite the world according to Judtech. Now whom do we believe? Gee, tough choice.

M&M Guy Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 707814)
Then how come the pertinent elbow rules are written the exact same for NCAA Men and Women and there is nothing official anywhere that I can find that can back up your little flights of fancy.

Scrappy cites actual NCAA rules. You cite the world according to Judtech. Now whom do we believe? Gee, tough choice.

Unfortunately, I guess I may be living in the world of Judtech. :eek:

While I was not at the NCAA D-1 women's meetings, I was at 2 different conference meetings where they relayed what was discussed. As we can see here, there is still a lot of confusion as to how this rule is to be interpreted. But, as I understand it, there was only one change in the rule from previous years, and that is simply the elimination of a common foul involving any contact from the neck up involving an elbow.

In other words, the first choice we have to make in all contact situations involving elbows is whether the contact is incidental, even if it's above the shoulders. That has not changed, and I think that's where some of the confusion comes in. Some people are thinking the change includes calling a foul on any contact above the shoulders, and that's simply not true on either side, afaik. For example, see the above wording from Scrappy's quote, where it mentions "illegal contact" above the shoulders.

On the women's side, the language is: "Intent of the new rule: (a) Officials determine what is a foul before they make any other decisions about the contact. (b) When officials determine that the foul involved a swinging/moving (not excessively according to Rule 4-36.7) elbow that made contact ABOVE the shoulders, a minimum of an intentional personal foul must be assessed. (c) By penalizing a foul that involved a moving/swinging elbow that made contact ABOVE the shoulders with an intentional personal foul, players would be discouraged from making contact with the elbows."

We still have to make the determination if it's incidental or illegal. Then, if we determine it is a foul, and the contact happens above the shoulders, it can only be intentional or flagrant. We no longer have the option of calling a personal, common or team-control foul on that specific contact.

So, I will disagree a little with Judtech's comment about a "basketball play" in that it can be a basketball play and still be ruled an intentional, and possibly flagrant foul. But, it can be a basketball play and still be incidental contact, and therefore have no foul called, even if the contact is above the shoulders. And I don't think there's too much difference between the men and women's sides on this.

Judtech Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:23pm

M&M - Welcome to my world. It is really a fun place, especially with the little pink pills they give us everyday!!!

JR - I am sorry you were not at the same meetings as I. When something is written it is always open for interpretation. If not, what would a Supreme Court justice do with their life?

The rules that are causing some confusion are:
9-13-a2 and 9 -13 - a3

a2. A player may extend arm(s) or elbow(s) to hold the ball under the chin or against the body

a3. Action of arm(s) and elbow(s) resulting from total body movement as in pivoting or movement of the ball incidental to feinting with it, releasing it or moving it to prevent a held ball or loss of control shall not be considered excessive.

So the rub becomes, if a rebounder is legal in a2 and a3 yet there is elbow contact above the shoulders does it fall under the new penalty? Or is there no foul?

Jurassic Referee Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Judtech (Post 707870)

JR - I am sorry you were not at the same meetings as I. When something is written it is always open for interpretation. If not, what would a Supreme Court justice do with their life?

To paraphrase a great American....I knew Scrapper1. Judtech, you're no Scrapper1.

Old School? Hmmmmmmm..... could be.....

justacoach Tue Dec 28, 2010 10:52am

In the press NCAA Elbows
 
Found this article in the venerable washington post Dec 25 Sports section pg D3
Before anybody gets the wrong idea, my neighbor asked me to watch his stoop while he is away, so I got it for free
NCAA basketball's new high-elbow prohibition leaves little room for interpretation


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1