The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Interrupted dribble (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60102-interrupted-dribble.html)

BillyMac Sun Dec 12, 2010 01:28pm

No, Casebook Interpretations Rule ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 707070)
Case book play 4.15.4SitE.

4.15.4 SITUATION E: While A1 is dribbling in A’s backcourt, the ball legally
touches B1’s leg, causing it to bounce away from A1. A1 quickly recovers the ball
with two hands and then starts another dribble. RULING: Legal. The touch by B1
ended the original dribble and A1 could then recover and dribble again. However,
the touch by B1 did not end team control and the 10-second backcourt count
continues. (9-5-2)

mbyron Sun Dec 12, 2010 02:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 707041)
Whatever it was, it definitely was not a fumble.

The player had control and then lost it without any intervening cause. If that's not a fumble, what is? What's your definition of a fumble?

BillyMac Sun Dec 12, 2010 02:31pm

Miracle In The Meadowlands ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 707078)
If that's not a fumble, what is?

This:

http://www.youtube.com/v/CzUHvg6QbaU...s=1&autoplay=1

just another ref Sun Dec 12, 2010 03:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 707078)
The player had control and then lost it without any intervening cause. If that's not a fumble, what is? What's your definition of a fumble?


You can't fumble a dribble.

just another ref Sun Dec 12, 2010 03:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 707070)
Who cares?

Read case book play 4.15.4SitE. That says the defensive touch ended the dribble. In that case, what difference does it make what type of dribble it ended... a regular ol' dribble or an interrupted dribble?

Rules rulz!

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 707072)
4.15.4 SITUATION E: While A1 is dribbling in A’s backcourt, the ball legally
touches B1’s leg, causing it to bounce away from A1. A1 quickly recovers the ball
with two hands and then starts another dribble. RULING: Legal. The touch by B1
ended the original dribble and A1 could then recover and dribble again. However,
the touch by B1 did not end team control and the 10-second backcourt count
continues. (9-5-2)

4-15-4d: The dribble ends when the ball touches or is touched by an opponent and causes the dribbler to lose control.

In my play, the touch did not cause the loss of control. This rule has already been rewritten once recently, seemingly as a result of discussion here. Perhaps another editorial revision will be forthcoming.

Adam Sun Dec 12, 2010 04:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 707088)
4-15-4d: The dribble ends when the ball touches or is touched by an opponent and causes the dribbler to lose control.

In my play, the touch did not cause the loss of control. This rule has already been rewritten once recently, seemingly as a result of discussion here. Perhaps another editorial revision will be forthcoming.

I'm basing my decision on the fact they revised the portion of the rule already. I can't imagine they want this treated differently than a fumble where the same thing happens.

just another ref Sun Dec 12, 2010 04:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 707096)
I'm basing my decision on the fact they revised the portion of the rule already. I can't imagine they want this treated differently than a fumble where the same thing happens.

I tend to agree.

justacoach Sun Dec 12, 2010 06:59pm

Aretha-Just a lil respect...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 707069)
Nobody mentioned a fumble until JR.

FWIW, I did, in post #2 of this thread, and provided a well reasoned refutation to your improper call and your improper characterization of this action as 'interrupted dribble'.

Jurassic Referee Sun Dec 12, 2010 07:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 707069)
Player had a dribble, then lost control resulting in an interrupted dribble. Ball then touched/was touched by the defender. Dribbler then picked the ball up with both hands. Can he legally start a new dribble after this sequence?

Yes as per NFHS case book play 4.15.4SitE. It's the exact same play. You had an interrupted dribble that touched an opponent. That ended the interrupted dribble. So the dribbler could recover and dribble again.

The case play just says "dribble". It didn't say that it only applies to one certain specific type of dribble though. Go with what you got. And what you got is sureashell good enough imo.

Rules rulz!

just another ref Sun Dec 12, 2010 08:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 707114)
Yes as per NFHS case book play 4.15.4SitE. It's the exact same play. You had an interrupted dribble that touched an opponent. That ended the interrupted dribble. So the dribbler could recover and dribble again.

The case play just says "dribble". It didn't say that it only applies to one certain specific type of dribble though. Go with what you got. And what you got is sureashell good enough imo.

Rules rulz!

The key to the case play is that the touch caused the loss of control, which is not what happened in my play. Is it the intent that the touch would still end the dribble? Probably Is it written that way? No

Jurassic Referee Sun Dec 12, 2010 08:48pm

A horse is a horse, of course of course....

And so is a dribble, of course of course.

And use what you got (the case play cited) and don't worry your pretty l'il head any further 'bout it. :D

Now shoo, shoo....

Your time could be more constructively used picketing anyone who has ever called a blarge.

just another ref Sun Dec 12, 2010 08:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 707129)

Your time could be more constructively used picketing anyone who has ever called a blarge.

I don't actually know anyone who has called one.

Jurassic Referee Sun Dec 12, 2010 09:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 707131)
I don't actually know anyone who has called one.

Me. If I see you picketing outside my house, I'll sic Fang, my pet pit-bichon frise on ya. :eek:

Adam Sun Dec 12, 2010 09:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 707131)
I don't actually know anyone who has called one.

I haven't, but I know several who have.

just another ref Sun Dec 12, 2010 09:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 707131)
I don't actually know anyone who has called one.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 707135)
Me.


Does anyone really know you?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1