![]() |
Is basket interference on a free throw a technical foul, or is that just in NFHS?
|
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Geneva">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Mark Dexter:
Is basket interference on a free throw a technical foul, or is that just in NFHS?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE> The NCAA rulebook (Rule 9, section 16.a and Rule 10, section 3.m) states that GOALTENDING during a free throw (which is defined in Rule 4:18 as touching a ball in flight during a free-throw attempt regardless of whether the attempt is on its upward or downward flight) is a technical foul, which would be the same as NFHS. However, there is no mention in either NCAA rule that basket interference during a free throw attempt would result in a technical foul (as it does in NFHS, where if the basket interference was by the non-shooting team, you would award the point, complete shooting any additional free throws with the lane cleared, shoot the 2 technical free throws, and then give the ball to the shooting team for inbounding at the division line.) Therefore, in NCAA if the basket interference on a free throw was committed by the non-shooting team, then award the point and keep on playing (either additional shot if eligible or the non-shooting team takes ball out). |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38am. |