![]() |
Excessive TO-Free Throws Too Early
This actually happened in a game, but no one picked up on it.
Team A down twp points, grabs rebound with 8 seconds left and Team A player calls timeout. This timeout was in excess of number allotted and officials called an Admin TF. However, officials instead of allowing Team A to have the full TO, immediately administered the two shots which were good and then went to spot of infraction and gave Team A the ball back now down 4 points. Suppose after the shots had been made, Team A Coach points out to the officials that he has not been given the opportunity to use his 75 seconds. Should officials cancel the points and have them shot over again after the TO has finished? |
Maybe they gave team B the ball after the FTs, but nevertheless-
I don't think we take the points away, but don't have a reference. I would grant the full 60 seconds for the TO, and resume with team B getting the ball at the division line. |
Just read a NFHS case play about shooting Free Throws for a false double in the wrong order. This isn't one of the five correctable errors, since none of the free throws were unmerited. I would think this would fall along the same reasoning. The proper free throws were attempted, the error was in failing to award the time out, which is not correctable.
|
Under what rule set was this game being played? Shooting the FTs at the wrong time, giving the ball to the wrong team, 75 seconds for a timeout, etc. leads me to believe this was not under NF rules, I hope.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
If I'm remembering that correctly, then it strikes me as odd that the out of order free throws are allowed to stand in this case. |
Quote:
I disagreed with that interp (but will follow it). I can see the difference between FTs that *must* be followed by a dead ball and FTs that *might* be followed by a live ball (as in the sub case) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15pm. |