The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Mechanics Question: DQ (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59927-mechanics-question-dq.html)

bainsey Tue Nov 30, 2010 04:18pm

Mechanics Question: DQ
 
I'm reviewing old mechanics' tests, and I came across this one:

"When a player is disqualified with five fouls, the official shall inform the head coach, next inform the player, then instruct the timer to start the 20-second clock. YES or NO?"

The answer listed is NO, but I can't find a citation in the Crew of Two Mechanics. Should the sequence be player, coach, clock? Does anyone have a citation?

JRutledge Tue Nov 30, 2010 04:22pm

The answer should be "Yes." This was changed a few years ago to make the player "bench personnel" so that the coach can take responsibility for them and we can penalize the coach if the player acts out.

Inform the coach
Inform the player
Instruct the table to start the clock

Peace

just another ref Tue Nov 30, 2010 04:25pm

10.5.2B "The coach of team A is notified and then the official instructs the timer to begin the replacement period. The player is then notified of the disqualification."

tref Tue Nov 30, 2010 04:26pm

I thought it was coach, timer, player? The player becomes bench personel when the coach was informed?

JRutledge Tue Nov 30, 2010 04:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 704043)
I thought it was coach, timer, player? The player becomes bench personel when the coach was informed?

I think it depends on if you use NF mechanics or not.

And yes they are bench personnel when the coach is informed.

Peace

tref Tue Nov 30, 2010 04:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 704046)
I think it depends on if you use NF mechanics or not.

So I see... IAABO here, thanks!

Rich Tue Nov 30, 2010 05:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 704046)
I think it depends on if you use NF mechanics or not.

I can't imagine why you'd go to the player before starting the clock, Jeff. Is that really how you do it?

"That's 5 on 23, Coach......(to the table) start the clock....." then go notify 23 while the coach is getting a sub to the table.

JRutledge Tue Nov 30, 2010 05:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 704053)
I can't imagine why you'd go to the player before starting the clock, Jeff. Is that really how you do it?

"That's 5 on 23, Coach......(to the table) start the clock....." then go notify 23 while the coach is getting a sub to the table.

Go to the player and informing the player are really two different things. I never go to a player to tell them much of anything. It is usually pretty obvious.

Peace

Rich Tue Nov 30, 2010 05:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 704054)
Go to the player and informing the player are really two different things. I never go to a player to tell them much of anything. It is usually pretty obvious.

Peace

I had a player commit his fifth on Saturday and he stood on the low block afterwards. Not sure how I'm going to notify him unless I go to him.

By the time I got back to the table the sub was already there.

I must say I don't follow NFHS mechanics to the letter, though. If I call the fifth foul and don't think the court is about to burn to the ground if I get within 10 feet of the coach, I inform the coach myself.

johnsonboys03 Tue Nov 30, 2010 05:46pm

NFHS rules....rule 2-8 article 4. Notify the coach and request the timer to begin the replacement interval, and then notify the player on a disqualification.

JRutledge Wed Dec 01, 2010 02:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 704056)
I had a player commit his fifth on Saturday and he stood on the low block afterwards. Not sure how I'm going to notify him unless I go to him.

By the time I got back to the table the sub was already there.

I must say I don't follow NFHS mechanics to the letter, though. If I call the fifth foul and don't think the court is about to burn to the ground if I get within 10 feet of the coach, I inform the coach myself.

I almost always tell the coach myself a player has fouled out. I am a big boy, I can do that without much help. Hell I called the foul, I think I can tell the coach his player fouled out.

Peace

APG Wed Dec 01, 2010 03:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 704155)
I almost always tell the coach myself a player has fouled out. I am a big boy, I can do that without much help. Hell I called the foul, I think I can tell the coach his player fouled out.

Peace

Same here.

BillyMac Wed Dec 01, 2010 07:27am

That's Five Coach ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 704155)
I almost always tell the coach myself a player has fouled out.

From my pregame:

Game management: If I call a fifth foul on a player, I’ll tell the coach, unless I think it’s going to be a problem. If either of us warns a coach, or the bench, let’s let each other know about it. If one of us calls a technical foul on a coach, the noncalling official will remind the coach that he must sit down.

(Note to IAABO members: IAABO mechanics mandate that if one of us calls a technical foul on a coach, that the referee will remind the coach that he must sit down. I got this incorrect on the last IAABO mechanics exam. Some on my local board are trying to get this changed to "noncalling" official, or at least allow some type of option. Stupid IAABO mechanics.)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1