The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Team Control Foul Basis (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59909-team-control-foul-basis.html)

CDurham Mon Nov 29, 2010 11:07am

Team Control Foul Basis
 
A1 is in the act of shooting but has not released the ball yet. Meanwhile A2 pushes B2 and is called for a foul. A1 continues the shot and it goes in.

The official cancels the basket and we are going the other way. Is the basis for this being that A1 still had team control?

If A1 had released the ball team control would have been lost therefore counting the basket?

Thanks

bob jenkins Mon Nov 29, 2010 11:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CDurham (Post 703763)
A1 is in the act of shooting but has not released the ball yet. Meanwhile A2 pushes B2 and is called for a foul. A1 continues the shot and it goes in.

The official cancels the basket and we are going the other way. Is the basis for this being that A1 still had team control?

If A1 had released the ball team control would have been lost therefore counting the basket?

Thanks

Read rule 6-"the ball becomes dead when..."

Read the exceptions. Do any apply?

Indianaref Mon Nov 29, 2010 11:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 703765)
Read rule 6-"the ball becomes dead when..."

Read the exceptions. Do any apply?

6-7-Art. 4

Exceptions do not apply in this case.

Indianaref Mon Nov 29, 2010 11:52am

6.7 SITUATION B: After A1 starts the free-throwing motion, A2 commits a foul by pushing B1 along the lane. RULING: If the foul occurred after the ball was in flight, the point counts if the throw was successful and no substitute throw is awarded if not successful. If A1 had not released the free-throw attempt before A2 fouled B1, the ball became dead when the team-control foul occurred and A1 is permitted an unhindered free throw. The foul by A2 results in the ball being awarded to Team B at the out-of-bounds spot nearest to where A2 fouled B1, unless the free-throw attempt by A1 is successful in which case B will throw-in from out of bounds anywhere along the end line where the free throw was scored. (4-19-7, 9; 7-5-7)

BillyMac Mon Nov 29, 2010 05:54pm

Confused In Connecticut ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by CDurham (Post 703763)
A1 is in the act of shooting but has not released the ball yet.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indianaref (Post 703773)
After A1 starts the free-throwing motion.

Are we talking about a field goal try, or a free throw attempt?

NFHS 4-11: CONTINUOUS MOTION
ART. 1 Continuous motion applies to a try or tap for field goals and free
throws, but it has no significance unless there is a foul by any defensive player
during the interval which begins when the habitual throwing movement starts a
try or with the touching on a tap and ends when the ball is clearly in flight.
ART. 2 If an opponent fouls after a player has started a try for goal, he/she
is permitted to complete the customary arm movement, and if pivoting or
stepping when fouled, may complete the usual foot or body movement in any
activity while holding the ball. These privileges are granted only when the usual
throwing motion has started before the foul occurs and before the ball is in flight.
ART. 3 Continuous motion does not apply if a teammate fouls after a player
has started a try for a goal and before the ball is in flight. The ball becomes dead
immediately.

NFHS 6-7-EXCEPTION: The ball does not become dead until the try or tap ends, or until the airborne
shooter returns to the floor, when:
a. Article 5, 6, or 7 occurs while a try or tap for a field goal is in flight.
b. Article 5 or 7 occurs while a try for a free throw is in flight.
c. Article 7 occurs by any opponent of a player who has started a try or tap for goal (is
in the act of shooting) before the foul occurred, provided time did not expire before
the ball was in flight. The trying motion must be continuous and begins after the ball
comes to rest in the player’s hand(s) on a try or touches the hand(s) on a tap, and
is completed when the ball is clearly in flight. The trying motion may include arm,
foot or body movements used by the player when throwing the ball at his/her basket.
d. Article 9 as in 9-3-3 or 9-13-1, occurs by an opponent.

Nevadaref Mon Nov 29, 2010 08:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CDurham (Post 703763)
A1 is in the act of shooting but has not released the ball yet. Meanwhile A2 pushes B2 and is called for a foul. A1 continues the shot and it goes in.

The official cancels the basket and we are going the other way. Is the basis for this being that A1 still had team control?

If A1 had released the ball team control would have been lost therefore counting the basket?

Thanks

The simple answer to both of your questions is, "YES."


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1