The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Point of Interruption (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59890-point-interruption.html)

cjclark6cc Sat Nov 27, 2010 01:12pm

Point of Interruption
 
Play happened in my son's 5th grade tournament game today (don't all the crazy ones happen there).

Team A inbounds the ball under team B's basket. Team A shoots into team B's basket and scores. Team B then inbounds the ball and takes it into their back court (going the wrong way). Coaches are yelling about going the wrong way so the referees blow the whistle and stop play with Team B in their backcourt.

Basket counted for Team B and team B was given the ball in their backcourt b/c that's where they were at the point of interruption. Note that the officials had not "called" backcourt

I thought that Team A should have gotten the ball b/c the point of interruption was a violation.

Thoughts?

deecee Sat Nov 27, 2010 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by cjclark6cc (Post 703531)
Play happened in my son's 5th grade tournament game today (don't all the crazy ones happen there).

Team A inbounds the ball under team B's basket. Team A shoots into team B's basket and scores. Team B then inbounds the ball and takes it into their back court (going the wrong way). Coaches are yelling about going the wrong way so the referees blow the whistle and stop play with Team B in their backcourt.

Basket counted for Team B and team B was given the ball in their backcourt b/c that's where they were at the point of interruption. Note that the officials had not "called" backcourt

I thought that Team A should have gotten the ball b/c the point of interruption was a violation.

Thoughts?

Unfortunately this is not correctable. the only thing the officials can do is stop play and point the players at the right basket. POI is where the ball was when the play was stopped NOT where the officials "thought" it should go.

If anything Team A SHOULD have had the ball after they made it in the wrong basket. But once again this is all not correctable.

Adam Sat Nov 27, 2010 01:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by cjclark6cc (Post 703531)
Play happened in my son's 5th grade tournament game today (don't all the crazy ones happen there).

Team A inbounds the ball under team B's basket. Team A shoots into team B's basket and scores. Team B then inbounds the ball and takes it into their back court (going the wrong way). Coaches are yelling about going the wrong way so the referees blow the whistle and stop play with Team B in their backcourt.

Basket counted for Team B and team B was given the ball in their backcourt b/c that's where they were at the point of interruption. Note that the officials had not "called" backcourt

I thought that Team A should have gotten the ball b/c the point of interruption was a violation.

Thoughts?

if both teams were confused, and they as well as the officials were, then they did it right. You can't go back and retroactively call a violation you missed.
There were multiple points to stop play here.
After A scored into Bs basket, the officials should have made sure that A got the ball. Blow the whistle as soon as B grabs the ball and set it straight.
After that, it's a cluster fark regardless of how you resolve it.

cjclark6cc Sat Nov 27, 2010 09:13pm

I understand the error isn't correctable and I know the officials should have blown made sure that the correct team got the ball after the wrong team scored. The officials stopped play during the backcourt violation. When they stopped play the team had the ball in their backcourt. Given that how do you define "point of interruption" here. I ask b/c the team had the ball but they had it "illegally" at that point.

Adam Sun Nov 28, 2010 12:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by cjclark6cc (Post 703581)
I understand the error isn't correctable and I know the officials should have blown made sure that the correct team got the ball after the wrong team scored. The officials stopped play during the backcourt violation. When they stopped play the team had the ball in their backcourt. Given that how do you define "point of interruption" here. I ask b/c the team had the ball but they had it "illegally" at that point.

Wrong, it wasn't "during" a violation; it was "after" a violation that hadn't been called. They can't go back and call that violation.

They no more had the ball "illegally" at that point than if they had gotten away with a travel right before the whistle.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1