![]() |
Double Foul - 1) Common 2) Intentional...Results ?
Tuesday, Nov 23rd - Pre-Season NIT:
VCU vs. Tennessee @ MSG. VCU has the ball out of bounds (along their front-court) along the sideline and is attempting to inbound the ball. As the ball is thrown into the backcourt a VCU player and a Tenn player arms are tangled up. The Tenn player's elbow raises up and hits the VCU player in the face - who then goes down. Official correctly calls a 'double-foul' However, after reviewing the play on the monitor, they then issue an intentional foul on the Tenn player. Here is what occurred: a) no foul shots and b) play resumed @ point of interruption with VCU taking the ball out of bounds again. Since this is a NCAA code, maybe it is different, but I would have thought that with an 'intentional' foul that it would always warrant 2-free throws and the ball? Then again, since it was a double foul, maybe its just the 2-free throws and then return to 'point of interruption'? I am throwing this out here for rulings on both codes: 1) NCAA and 2) NFHS? Thanks and hope everyone had a great holiday weekend. |
Quote:
|
Interesting, in that bumping this to an intentional foul is meaningless in this case.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59pm. |