The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   A Couple of Questions Before Season Opener Tonight (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59878-couple-questions-before-season-opener-tonight.html)

CDurham Fri Nov 26, 2010 10:25am

A Couple of Questions Before Season Opener Tonight
 
Okay I am on a question spree in order to see if I have the right elements correct in various rules.

1) Team A is inbounding the ball in their frontcourt. A5 tips the ball in the frontcourt and it accidentally goes into their backcourt, where he recovers the ball. Ruling: NO VIOLATION as Team Control wasn't established?

2) A1 receives a pass and uses one hand to tip/bat the ball to the floor. He then recovers (gains control) and dribbles around B13. Ruling: NO VIOLATION as the initial tip/bat wasnt controlled?

3) Team A is given a Delay of Game Warning for delaying Team B's opportunity to make a throw in by hitting the ball after the made goal. To start the 2nd quarter Team A spilled water in front of their bench. It delays the start of the 2nd quarter. Ruling: TECHNICAL FOUL as the initial DOGW is applied to other delays?

Thanks!

zm1283 Fri Nov 26, 2010 10:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CDurham (Post 703386)
Okay I am on a question spree in order to see if I have the right elements correct in various rules.

1) Team A is inbounding the ball in their frontcourt. A5 tips the ball in the frontcourt and it accidentally goes into their backcourt, where he recovers the ball. Ruling: NO VIOLATION as Team Control wasn't established?

2) A1 receives a pass and uses one hand to tip/bat the ball to the floor. He then recovers (gains control) and dribbles around B13. Ruling: NO VIOLATION as the initial tip/bat wasnt controlled?

3) Team A is given a Delay of Game Warning for delaying Team B's opportunity to make a throw in by hitting the ball after the made goal. To start the 2nd quarter Team A spilled water in front of their bench. It delays the start of the 2nd quarter. Ruling: TECHNICAL FOUL as the initial DOGW is applied to other delays?

Thanks!

1. Correct.

2. As long as you don't judge it to be a dribble, no violation.

3. Correct....just make sure the water spill actually delays the game because you're going to have a sh*tstorm on your hands. I'm not saying to ignore it, but don't go picking boogers here.

Scrapper1 Fri Nov 26, 2010 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CDurham (Post 703386)
1) Team A is inbounding the ball in their frontcourt. A5 tips the ball in the frontcourt and it accidentally goes into their backcourt, where he recovers the ball. Ruling: NO VIOLATION as Team Control wasn't established?

Even if the ball is intentionally batted into the backcourt, there is no violation, since a bat does not establish team control.

Jurassic Referee Fri Nov 26, 2010 11:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 703395)
Even if the ball is intentionally batted into the backcourt, there is no violation, since a bat does not establish team control.

AKA case book play 4.12.6SITUATION(b)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1