![]() |
Throw in ruling
A1 has a throw in on sideline in backcourt. He throws long down the same sideline toward front court to A2. The ball never crosses the plane of the boundary. A2, while his feet are inbounds, reaches across the plane and catches the ball. Violation?
Been reading and re-reading the rules and case books tyring to decide for myself, but I've gotten to the point where I've thought about it too much and gotten myself confused. 8-6-2 seems to tell me yes, but not sure. |
Violation
7-6 Art. 2...The throw-in starts when the ball is at the disposal of a player of the team entitled to the throw-in. The thrower shall released the ball on a pass directly into the court, except as in 7-5-7, within five seconds after the throw-in starts. The throw-in pass shall touch another player (inbound or out of bounds) on the court before going out of bounds untouched. The throw-in pass shall not touch a teammate while it is on the out of bounds side of the throw-in boundary plane. |
Thanks Gamer. I meant 7-6-2. I don't think I've really ever seen it happen. This came up the other night when I was having a beer with a buddy after work and we were talking about odd plays. Ever seen it called?
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42pm. |