The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Control and or Back-court (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59852-control-back-court.html)

NoFear2020 Wed Nov 24, 2010 03:35am

Control and or Back-court
 
NCAA D2 Men:

A1 shoots a deep 3 pointer, the air-ball hits nothing but the floor on the way oob, as the ball is going oob A2 jumps to meet the ball, and with one hand sends the ball into the backcourt where team A recovers the ball. :eek:

What is your call? :confused:

I had a no-call, :o team B coach did not agree with me. :mad: LOL

Thanks :cool:

APG Wed Nov 24, 2010 04:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFear2020 (Post 702993)
NCAA D2 Men:

A1 shoots a deep 3 pointer, the air-ball hits nothing but the floor on the way oob, as the ball is going oob A2 jumps to meet the ball, and with one hand sends the ball into the backcourt where team A recovers the ball. :eek:

What is your call? :confused:

I had a no-call, :o team B coach did not agree with me. :mad: LOL

Thanks :cool:

Judgement call...If you would have awarded a timeout while Team A is "meeting" the ball and "sending" it in the backcourt (ignoring the fact that you wouldn't if the player was falling out of bounds), then team control requirements were met and a backcourt violation would of been the proper call. If you would not have given a timeout, then no team control and a legal recovery by Team A in their backcourt.

Jurassic Referee Wed Nov 24, 2010 07:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFear2020 (Post 702993)
NCAA D2 Men:

A1 shoots a deep 3 pointer, the air-ball hits nothing but the floor on the way oob, as the ball is going oob A2 jumps to meet the ball, and with one hand sends the ball into the backcourt where team A recovers the ball. :eek:

What is your call?

Judgment call. If you judge that A2 had player control(holding the ball) when he threw the ball in the backcourt, it's a backcourt violation when touched by a team A player. If you judge that A2 didn't have player control when he threw the ball into the back court, then any player on the court can legally touch the ball.

Sounds like your judgment was that there was no player control on the toss to the backcourt. Fine with us. Screw the coach.

Welcome to the forum.

bob jenkins Wed Nov 24, 2010 08:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFear2020 (Post 702993)
NCAA D2 Men:

A1 shoots a deep 3 pointer, the air-ball hits nothing but the floor on the way oob, as the ball is going oob A2 jumps to meet the ball, and with one hand sends the ball into the backcourt where team A recovers the ball. :eek:

What is your call? :confused:

I had a no-call, :o team B coach did not agree with me. :mad: LOL

Thanks :cool:

Judgement call. Did A2 CATCH AND THROW the ball to the BC? If so, violation. Or, did A2 BAT the ball to the BC? If so, no violation.

(Several different ways of getting to the same point -- did A2 have PC? Each of the examples (and there are proobably more) will resonate with different officials.)

referee99 Thu Nov 25, 2010 10:16am

I had a similar play...
 
But instead of
:eek:
:confused:
:o
:mad:
:cool:

it was more like

:eek:
:confused:
:mad:
:o
:cool:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1