![]() |
|
|
|||
Pay Attention!
Last night (NFHS):
A23 fouls out. R reports the foul, and is notified of the 5th personal. B20 is at the line to shoot 1-and-1. R notifies the player and A-HC. R goes to the table to start the 20-sec. clock, and U1 administers the free throw to A20. Free throw is made, but A has not replaced its player yet. What do you do? |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
To clarify, if the shot is missed, should you hold your whistle for a second or two until a team has control? That way, you wouldn't need the arrow.
|
|
|||
Note that the NCAA (at elast NCAAW) ruling is different -- cancel the FT, put the sub in, FT do-over.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Is that based on the wording from A.R. 80 or is there an interp out there somewhere? Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Tue Nov 23, 2010 at 04:43pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Is this correct? |
|
|||
Quote:
If going to POI once there's TC is the correct procedure, would/should we wait on the whistle if Team B had a fast break going off the miss? |
|
|||
It's our screw-up and we need to fix it. And we also don't need to compound our screw-up by penalizing a team by making them play with 4 players. As soon as you're aware that we didn't allow a proper substitution, blow your whistle and get the sub on the floor. You then have rules to determine what you have to do when you resume play. Use 'em.
|
|
|||
Have a pregame...about the procedure you are going to use when a player is disqualified. This should be discussed the same way that substitutions (count players) should be discussed, everyone makes eye contact and the ball goes in play.
-Josh |
|
|||
Having been burned by this exact scenario, it's ALWAYS included in my pre-game. It looks REALLY bad when the FT misses and play continues while an official is standing near the table trying to get a sub in.
__________________
Calling it both ways...since 1999 |
|
|||
Same game:
Ball OOB at baseline. T and L blow whistle. T says white, L says blue. This is L's call, but a meeting occurs and L changes the call immediately. Note: T here is same U1 who administered the FT |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Getting your attention | IRISHMAFIA | Softball | 8 | Fri Oct 09, 2009 08:18am |
While I have your attention | wbrown | Basketball | 39 | Fri Jan 23, 2009 09:40pm |
Attention Rookies | rngrck | Baseball | 22 | Tue Apr 15, 2008 04:01pm |
Attention MJT !!! | With_Two_Flakes | Football | 2 | Sat Jan 26, 2008 01:28pm |
Getting an officials attention. | mick | Soccer | 0 | Wed Dec 29, 2004 08:23am |