The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Another throw-in question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59818-another-throw-question.html)

Mark Padgett Sun Nov 21, 2010 12:47pm

Another throw-in question
 
Seeing the thread on the throw-in question reminded me of a question that came up in a rec league referee meeting. NF rules - A1 to inbound on the endline after a basket by team B. A2 is also standing OOB on the endline. A1 passes the ball to A2 - this is legal. However, can A2 then pass the ball back to A1, who is still OOB, to inbound? Assume this all happens within 5 seconds.

Scrapper1 Sun Nov 21, 2010 12:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 702356)
However, can A2 then pass the ball back to A1, who is still OOB, to inbound?

Why wouldn't she be allowed to do that? :confused:

Adam Sun Nov 21, 2010 12:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 702360)
Why wouldn't she be allowed to do that? :confused:

echo

bainsey Sun Nov 21, 2010 01:03pm

That reminds me of something our board's interpreter brought up recently.

Let's keep Mark's scenario, but add an A3 OOB. According to our interpreter, an OOB pass from A1 to A2 is legal, and going back to A1 is okay, but not to a third player that's also OOB on the end line.

Never have I seen such a thing, nor did I bother to look up a citation. Anyone ever hear of this?

tjones1 Sun Nov 21, 2010 01:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 702367)
That reminds me of something our board's interpreter brought up recently.

Let's keep Mark's scenario, but add an A3 OOB. According to our interpreter, an OOB pass from A1 to A2 is legal, and going back to A1 is okay, but not to a third player that's also OOB on the end line.

Never have I seen such a thing, nor did I bother to look up a citation. Anyone ever hear of this?

Why is it illegal?

7-5-7a

Jurassic Referee Sun Nov 21, 2010 01:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 702367)
That reminds me of something our board's interpreter brought up recently.

Let's keep Mark's scenario, but add an A3 OOB. According to our interpreter, an OOB pass from A1 to A2 is legal, and going back to A1 is okay, but not to a third player that's also OOB on the end line.

Never have I seen such a thing, nor did I bother to look up a citation. Anyone ever hear of this?

Man, combining that with recent threads, bainsey, methinks your interpreter needs to be impeached by IAABO. He just doesn't have a clue.

Lah me.......:rolleyes:

26 Year Gap Sun Nov 21, 2010 01:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 702382)
Man, combining that with recent threads, bainsey, methinks your interpreter needs to be impeached by IAABO. He just doesn't have a clue.

Lah me.......:rolleyes:

Hope not. I know the guy.

Jurassic Referee Sun Nov 21, 2010 02:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 702384)
Hope not. I know the guy.

How did he come up with an obviously wrong answer to something that basic then?

BillyMac Sun Nov 21, 2010 02:22pm

Bill Of Rights ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 702382)
Your interpreter needs to be impeached by IAABO.

Not sure that's allowed under our constitution. It's fourteen pages long, so give me time to read up on this to confirm, or deny.

26 Year Gap Sun Nov 21, 2010 04:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 702390)
How did he come up with an obviously wrong answer to something that basic then?

I don't know. This is pre-Gap.

bainsey Sun Nov 21, 2010 04:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 702382)
methinks your interpreter needs to be impeached by IAABO

You'll have to aim higher then, JR, because my interpreter got that ruling from someone on a national IAABO level.

mbyron Sun Nov 21, 2010 04:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 702390)
How did he come up with an obviously wrong answer to something that basic then?

We're assuming the case and ruling are being reported correctly. Might not be so.

Jurassic Referee Sun Nov 21, 2010 04:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 702432)
You'll have to aim higher then, JR, because my interpreter got that ruling from someone on a national IAABO level.

Bainsey, I have real doubts that anyone at the national IABBO level would ever issue a completely erroneous...and stoopid...ruling like that. They are just too sharp to be doing anything like that.

Jurassic Referee Sun Nov 21, 2010 04:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 702434)
We're assuming the case and ruling are being reported correctly. Might not be so.

I doubt very much that anyone at the IAABO national level ever issued anything like that. I know a lot of those guys. I also know quite a few local board interpreters. The great majority are very rules knowledgable imo.

bob jenkins Sun Nov 21, 2010 04:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 702437)
I doubt very much that anyone at the IAABO national level ever issued anything like that. I know a lot of those guys. I also know quite a few local board interpreters. The great majority are very rules knowledgable imo.

Exactly. And, I've certainly been involved when the "ruling" comes in a large meeting where the original situation mutates somewhat and someone on one seide of the room gets a ruling to the mutation that someone on the other side applies to the original question, and now there's confusion.

bainsey Sun Nov 21, 2010 05:10pm

That ruling surprises me a bit, too, but that's what I was told. Do with it what you wish, gentlemen.

Jurassic Referee Sun Nov 21, 2010 07:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 702444)
That ruling surprises me a bit, too, but that's what I was told. Do with it what you wish, gentlemen.

Already have, bainsey. The ruling is wrong and that's been pointed out to any readers of this site(most of whom knew that anyway before reading it here).

ejn1958 Mon Dec 06, 2010 11:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 702367)
That reminds me of something our board's interpreter brought up recently.

Let's keep Mark's scenario, but add an A3 OOB. According to our interpreter, an OOB pass from A1 to A2 is legal, and going back to A1 is okay, but not to a third player that's also OOB on the end line.

Never have I seen such a thing, nor did I bother to look up a citation. Anyone ever hear of this?

Your intepreter is wrong:
Rule 7-5 Art. & specifically states that ' any player may direct throw-in or he/she may pass the ball along the end line to a teammates(s) outside the boundary. " Note teamamte(s) is plural...wow..I think you need a new interprter.

ronald Mon Dec 06, 2010 12:14pm

let's see.

A says he got ruling from his guy who got it from national level

B and C and everybody else says that is wrong, can't be etc.

I say: call the national level and ask them. That is the only way to really resolve this. Now we will find out who thinks they are too good to do that. and yes it comes down to that in the end.

Jurassic Referee Mon Dec 06, 2010 01:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ronald (Post 705616)
let's see.

A says he got ruling from his guy who got it from national level

B and C and everybody else says that is wrong, can't be etc.

I say: call the national level and ask them. That is the only way to really resolve this. Now we will find out who thinks they are too good to do that. and yes it comes down to that in the end.

Why do you need to call anybody when you have a definitive rules citation..i.e. NFHS rule 7-5-7(a)? :confused:

Whatinthehell more could you possibly want?

mbyron Mon Dec 06, 2010 02:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 705641)
Why do you need to call anybody when you have a definitive rules citation..i.e. NFHS rule 7-5-7(a)? :confused:

Whatinthehell more could you possibly want?

He wants somebody with a title to tell him they really, really mean 7-5-7(a). ;)

Raymond Mon Dec 06, 2010 02:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 702444)
That ruling surprises me a bit, too, but that's what I was told. Do with it what you wish, gentlemen.

So your board bases its rulings off hearsay, not written guidance?

Jurassic Referee Mon Dec 06, 2010 02:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 705671)
He wants somebody with a title to tell him they really, really mean 7-5-7(a). ;)

Hey, I got a title. EGSDOTU! Given to me by Dan_ref many moons ago.

dbking Mon Dec 06, 2010 03:57pm

Interesting situation happened this summer @ a ref camp.

Team A makes the basket and calls time out. Team B is ahead by a couple of points( can't remember the score ) and under a minute.

Team B came out of the time out and had all 5 players line up along the end line. We were a little shocked. Had never seen anything like it. Team A coach is a little perplexed as well. He starts yelling at his players. Team B makes two passes out of bounds a runs a play that gets them a break away layup. I gave Team B coach an A+ for coming up with a unique legal play that was well executed.

mbyron Mon Dec 06, 2010 07:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 705679)
Hey, I got a title. EGSDOTU! Given to me by Dan_ref many moons ago.

Hm, I don't recall what that stands for, but knowing the source I'd imagine that if you typed it your keyboard would explode.

Jurassic Referee Mon Dec 06, 2010 08:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 705753)
Hm, I don't recall what that stands for, but knowing the source I'd imagine that if you typed it your keyboard would explode.

Naw, actually I was kinda proud of having that honor bestowed on me by ol' Slappy Dan...

El Grand Supreme Douchebag Of The Universe.

Just thinking of it brings a tear to my eye....

Stat-Man Tue Dec 07, 2010 07:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dbking (Post 705695)
Interesting situation happened this summer @ a ref camp.

Team A makes the basket and calls time out. Team B is ahead by a couple of points( can't remember the score ) and under a minute.

Team B came out of the time out and had all 5 players line up along the end line. We were a little shocked. Had never seen anything like it. Team A coach is a little perplexed as well. He starts yelling at his players. Team B makes two passes out of bounds a runs a play that gets them a break away layup. I gave Team B coach an A+ for coming up with a unique legal play that was well executed.

When I was in college, one of our opponents ran the same play against us. They didn't get a breakaway layup, though. :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1