The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw In Violation or Not? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59805-throw-violation-not.html)

dougolf2 Sat Nov 20, 2010 05:18pm

Throw In Violation or Not?
 
Team B makes a basket. A1 has the ball at his disposal at the endline, and he is in proper position for a throw-in. A1 throws the ball and it strikes the net closest to him, but the ball proceeds to enter the backcourt where it is caught by one of his teammates. What is the proper ruling? No violation, or throw-in violation on Team A, thus Team B gets the ball?

Jurassic Referee Sat Nov 20, 2010 05:23pm

Is the net in-bounds or out-of-bounds?

Case book play 9.2.2SitA(c) might give the right direction.

dougolf2 Sat Nov 20, 2010 05:29pm

The rule doesn't specifically cite the net, but the net is certainly attached to the rim which is attached to the front side of the backboard which is in-bounds. Thus, no violation and play should continue.

tjones1 Sat Nov 20, 2010 05:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dougolf2 (Post 702222)
The rule doesn't specifically cite the net, but the net is certainly attached to the rim which is attached to the front side of the backboard which is in-bounds. Thus, no violation and play should continue.

Bingo.

BillyMac Sat Nov 20, 2010 06:34pm

You're out of bounds! You're out of bounds! They're out of bounds!
 
(Apologies to Al Pacino)

Keep in mind that the nets, backboards, etc. on the unused "side baskets" are always out of bounds.

Jurassic Referee Sat Nov 20, 2010 06:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dougolf2 (Post 702222)
The rule doesn't specifically cite the net, but the net is certainly attached to the rim which is attached to the front side of the backboard which is in-bounds. Thus, no violation and play should continue.

You got 'er.

Welcome to the forum, Doug.

bob jenkins Sat Nov 20, 2010 06:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dougolf2 (Post 702222)
The rule doesn't specifically cite the net, but the net is certainly attached to the rim which is attached to the front side of the backboard which is in-bounds. Thus, no violation and play should continue.

The net is defined as part of the basket, and it's not a violation for the inbounds pass to hit the basket -- despite an incorrect ruling by a certain esteemed member of this site some 15 years ago.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1