The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Double Dribble (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59785-double-dribble.html)

CDurham Thu Nov 18, 2010 07:29pm

Double Dribble
 
A2 has ended the dribble. She then fumbles the ball and it drops and hits her foot. It rolls and she then picks it up and dribbles. It was not touched by an opponent she just lost the ball and fumbled it from having butter fingers.

Would this constitute a Double Dribble on the basis of 9-5-3 not happening?

But, now where does loss of player control come into play? If she loses the ball and it rolls, it is not in her possession, and say the official deems it not in her possessoin. Can she not dribble again?

Back In The Saddle Thu Nov 18, 2010 07:39pm

An axiom frequently stated here is "You may fumble, dribble, fumble; but you may not dribble, fumble, dribble."

Once a player has ended her dribble, she may not dribble a second time without one of the actions in 9-5 occurring. In your scenario A2 has not tried for field goal, she did not lose control because of a touch by an opponent, and her fumble was not touched by another player. Ergo, tweet!

Mark Padgett Thu Nov 18, 2010 07:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 701879)
Ergo, tweet!

BITS nailed it. A big tweet on this one.

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/229/4...249be45657.jpg

Nevadaref Thu Nov 18, 2010 07:58pm

A2 can retrieve her fumble, but she is not permitted to dribble a second time. That is a violation.

Jurassic Referee Thu Nov 18, 2010 08:24pm

Case book play 4.15.4SitD(c)

bob jenkins Fri Nov 19, 2010 08:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CDurham (Post 701873)
A2 has ended the dribble. She then fumbles the ball and it drops and hits her foot. It rolls and she then picks it up and dribbles. It was not touched by an opponent she just lost the ball and fumbled it from having butter fingers.

Would this constitute a Double Dribble on the basis of 9-5-3 not happening?

But, now where does loss of player control come into play? If she loses the ball and it rolls, it is not in her possession, and say the official deems it not in her possessoin. Can she not dribble again?

You cites the rulle. "Not in possession" is NOT sufficient to allow a second dribble. Only under certain reasons for "not in possession" is it allowed -- and your play isn't one of those reasons.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1