The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Correctable Error/Live Ball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59784-correctable-error-live-ball.html)

pizanno Thu Nov 18, 2010 10:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 701861)
"If an error is corrected, play shall be resumed from the point of interruption to rectify the error, unless it involves awarding a merited free throw(s) and there has been no change of team possession since the error was made, in which case play shall resume as after any free-throw attempt(s)." (NFHS 2-10-6)

Zoochy already pointed out that if you would not have a count, the ball is not at the team's disposal after a made basket. So you are still in the time frame to correct the error. Since the error is corrected, play is resumed from POI, which is the throw-in that follows A's basket. (Don't confused 2-10-6's use of "team possession", it is not the same thing as team control).

Help me understand when does the team possession change after a basket? Rule reference, please.

Adam Thu Nov 18, 2010 10:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 701896)
So in the case discussed you line everyone up and resume after the second FT by A1 just like any other FT? Don't clear the lane for the second FT and give it to B for a throw-in?

No, the made basket equals a change in possession, even if B hadn't yet started their throwin. It's their ball, they just haven't started yet. One FT with the lane cleared, followed by an end-line throw-in for B.

Adam Thu Nov 18, 2010 10:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by pizanno (Post 701898)
Help me understand when does the team possession change after a basket? Rule reference, please.

Case play: 2.10.1D

similar to the POI rule: 4-36-2b

zm1283 Thu Nov 18, 2010 10:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 701899)
No, the made basket equals a change in possession, even if B hadn't yet started their throwin. It's their ball, they just haven't started yet. One FT with the lane cleared, followed by an end-line throw-in for B.

Oh okay....A's made basket. Got it.

bainsey Thu Nov 18, 2010 11:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 701899)
One FT with the lane cleared, followed by an end-line throw-in for B.

That's what I have. The key here, as I see it, is point of interruption. What's the P.O.I. after a field goal? Backcourt, end-line throw-in for the opponent. You can't line up folks on the correctable free throw if the ball is going to the other team.

pizanno Thu Nov 18, 2010 11:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 701900)
Case play: 2.10.1D

similar to the POI rule: 4-36-2b

Thanks, Snaq. I think I read too much into the 'possession' phrasing. Certainly wouldn't want to line them up and have A score again off a missed FT.

Nevadaref Fri Nov 19, 2010 06:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by pizanno (Post 701911)
Thanks, Snaq. I think I read too much into the 'possession' phrasing. Certainly wouldn't want to line them up and have A score again off a missed FT.

You've got it right now. :)

Jurassic Referee Fri Nov 19, 2010 07:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 701884)
The possession question is entirely separate from the at the disposal question. Whether the ball is at the thrower's disposal is key to determining if we're still within the time frame to correct the error. Whether there has been a change of possession is key to determining how to resume play after correcting the error.

Agree. I was commenting only on the error correction time frame, not the actual correction. At least I thought I was. :)

ref2coach Fri Nov 19, 2010 12:11pm

A question regarding "change of possession". (c.o.p.)

A1 is shooting an un-merited FT. (a)B1 or (b)A2 secures the rebound.
In (a) this would a c.o.p. in (b) it would not be c.o.p.?

Do I have that right?

bob jenkins Fri Nov 19, 2010 12:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ref2coach (Post 702001)
A question regarding "change of possession". (c.o.p.)

A1 is shooting an un-merited FT. (a)B1 or (b)A2 secures the rebound.
In (a) this would a c.o.p. in (b) it would not be c.o.p.?

Do I have that right?

I think there's some case (but it might be only NCAA, I forget) where (a) is NOT COP

Back In The Saddle Fri Nov 19, 2010 01:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 701933)
Agree. I was commenting only on the error correction time frame, not the actual correction. At least I thought I was. :)

I'm with ya now :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1