The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt violation? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59764-backcourt-violation.html)

Seddy Wed Nov 17, 2010 10:09am

Backcourt violation?
 
Team A is bringing up the ball in their backcourt. A1 makes a pass to A2. A2 jumps from the frontcourt, catches the ball in the air, and lands in the backcourt. Is this a backcourt violation?

Scrapper1 Wed Nov 17, 2010 10:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Seddy (Post 701534)
Team A is bringing up the ball in their backcourt. A1 makes a pass to A2. A2 jumps from the frontcourt, catches the ball in the air, and lands in the backcourt. Is this a backcourt violation?

Yes.

Team control.
Front court status when caught.
Last to touch before going into backcourt.
First to touch after going into backcourt.

Tweet!

Adam Wed Nov 17, 2010 10:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Seddy (Post 701534)
Team A is bringing up the ball in their backcourt. A1 makes a pass to A2. A2 jumps from the frontcourt, catches the ball in the air, and lands in the backcourt. Is this a backcourt violation?

Why wouldn't it be?

bob jenkins Wed Nov 17, 2010 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 701547)
Why wouldn't it be?

I'm sure some would mistakenly argue that (a) the "three-points" exception applies and / or (b) the "player in the air" exception applies.

mj Wed Nov 17, 2010 11:27am

You are where you were until you get where your going...

mbyron Wed Nov 17, 2010 12:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mj (Post 701567)
You are where you were <s>until</s> till you get where you're going...

Fixed it for you (more consistent anapest). ;)

SamIAm Wed Nov 17, 2010 01:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Seddy (Post 701534)
Team A is bringing up the ball in their backcourt. A1 makes a pass to A2. A2 jumps from the frontcourt, catches the ball in the air, and lands in the backcourt. Is this a backcourt violation?

Using the situation above, if a2 taps the ball and it bounces then you would use the 3 points logic. Is that correct?

Camron Rust Wed Nov 17, 2010 01:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 701606)
Using the situation above, if a2 taps the ball and it bounces then you would use the 3 points logic. Is that correct?

No. The 3-points applies DURING a dribble, not to start a dribble. The tap gives the ball FC status.

SamIAm Thu Nov 18, 2010 08:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 701608)
No. The 3-points applies DURING a dribble, not to start a dribble. The tap gives the ball FC status.

The violation does not happen on the touch, it happens when the ball then touches the backcourt. If the ball was tapped then it was during a dribble.

I don't have a rule book handy, but isn't dribbling pushing or tapping the ball to the floor.

Scrapper1 Thu Nov 18, 2010 09:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 701698)
The violation does not happen on the touch, it happens when the ball then touches the backcourt.

Sam, the backcourt violation NEVER occurs when the ball touches the backcourt; this is because the violation is not for causing the ball to go into the backcourt.

The violation is for being the first to touch the ball after it has been in the backcourt. If nobody from the team ever touches the ball after it has been in the backcourt, then there is no violation.

Jurassic Referee Thu Nov 18, 2010 09:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 701700)
If nobody from the team ever touches the ball after it has been in the backcourt, then there is no violation.

No backcourt violation but you could still have a 10-second violation.

You know that; others might not.

mj Thu Nov 18, 2010 10:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 701711)
No backcourt violation but you could still have a 10-second violation.

You know that; others might not.

Yes that is true but I have never seen anyone start the count when the ball goes into the backcourt. Most start it when a player gains control.

mbyron Thu Nov 18, 2010 10:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mj (Post 701717)
Yes that is true but I have never seen anyone start the count when the ball goes into the backcourt. Most start it when a player gains control.

Then you have seen it handled incorrectly. The count starts when there is team control and the ball is in the backcourt.

Rule 9-8: "A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of a ball
which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds."

Jurassic Referee Thu Nov 18, 2010 10:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mj (Post 701717)
Yes that is true but I have never seen anyone start the count when the ball goes into the backcourt. Most start it when a player gains control.

Then most don't know the rule.

SamIAm Thu Nov 18, 2010 10:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 701700)
Sam, the backcourt violation NEVER occurs when the ball touches the backcourt; this is because the violation is not for causing the ball to go into the backcourt.

The violation is for being the first to touch the ball after it has been in the backcourt. If nobody from the team ever touches the ball after it has been in the backcourt, then there is no violation.

Of course you are correct Scrapper1. I got caught up in my own details. My real question is whether or not you use the 3 points logic. After giving it another trip through the SamIAm logic machine, I agree with and understand Camron Rust's post concerning the ball attaining FC status.

justacoach Thu Nov 18, 2010 12:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 701724)
Then most don't know the rule.

That ignominious majority included a state rules interpreter who has since been persuaded otherwise.;):eek:

Jurassic Referee Thu Nov 18, 2010 01:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by justacoach (Post 701749)
That ignominious majority included a state rules interpreter who has since been persuaded otherwise.;):eek:

Well, on the bright side, even though they're completely wrong nobody is ever gonna tell 'em that they'll never advance beyond being a "rule book ref". :D

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...rit-rules.html

I remember your crusade. Glad you were able to talk some sense into him. That benefits everybody in your state imho.

justacoach Tue Nov 30, 2010 09:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 701757)
Well, on the bright side, even though they're completely wrong nobody is ever gonna tell 'em that they'll never advance beyond being a "rule book ref". :D

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...rit-rules.html

I remember your crusade. Glad you were able to talk some sense into him. That benefits everybody in your state imho.

JR, could you shoot me an email to hots (at) usa dotcom?

johnyd Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:15pm

What if the ball never crosses mid court?
 
THe ball is in the back court, and then passed to a player A2 who is in the air jumping from front to back court. But he cathes the ball in the backcourt so that the ball never crosses half court.
Would 2 feet and the ball apply in this case?

APG Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnyd (Post 704094)
THe ball is in the back court, and then passed to a player A2 who is in the air jumping from front to back court. But he cathes the ball in the backcourt so that the ball never crosses half court.
Would 2 feet and the ball apply in this case?

The three points principle only applies to a dribbler so no go.

If in your play you meant a player jumped from his frontcourt, landed in the backcourt, then caught the ball, then that's nothing.

justacoach Tue Nov 30, 2010 11:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnyd (Post 704094)
THe ball is in the back court, and then passed to a player A2 who is in the air jumping from front to back court. But he cathes the ball in the backcourt so that the ball never crosses half court.
Would 2 feet and the ball apply in this case?

Don't overcomplicate this call. The position of the ball is determined, ruleswise. by where it last touched a player or the floor. Regardless of the ball's location during flight, in this case the ball retains backcourt status. Since the player jumped from FC, he has FC status. When he caught the ball he imparted FC status and team control to the ball and became the last to touch the ball when it had FC status. When he landed in BC, the ball attained BC status and he was first to touch.
Net result:BACKCOURT violation. The rules are not concerned with the physical location of a ball in flight.

This little ditty applies to the ball and players as well:
"You are where you were til you get where you're going", sung to the tune of Inna-gadda-da-vida
HTH

Adam Tue Nov 30, 2010 11:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnyd (Post 704094)
THe ball is in the back court, and then passed to a player A2 who is in the air jumping from front to back court. But he cathes the ball in the backcourt so that the ball never crosses half court.
Would 2 feet and the ball apply in this case?

justacoach lays it out pretty well, but this seems to be a common error. The only time the location of the ball with regard to any plane matters is on a throw in.

BktBallRef Tue Nov 30, 2010 11:44pm

Just to clarify, the three points deal only applies to the dribbler who is going from BC to FC.

Jurassic Referee Wed Dec 01, 2010 08:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by justacoach (Post 704087)
JR, could you shoot me an email to ...

Check your PM, Justa.

Suggest you delete your e-mail addy in previous post also. It's never a good idea imo to publically display it.

BillyMac Wed Dec 01, 2010 09:55pm

He's Got A Lot Of Extra Cash Lying Around ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 704177)
Suggest you delete your e-mail addy in previous post also. It's never a good idea to publicly display it.

Too late. I already gave the email address to my uncle in Nigeria. He's the crown prince. He'll be contacting justacoach shortly. I stand behind him 100%. That's because I want to be able to watch his every move.

justacoach Wed Dec 01, 2010 10:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 704177)
Check your PM, Justa.

Suggest you delete your e-mail addy in previous post also. It's never a good idea imo to publically display it.

Thanks for the reply and the advice. Not to worry, I am a card-carrying computer geek and would never expose a meaningful email addy on a public forum, especially considering the denizens of this institution...

justacoach Wed Dec 01, 2010 10:34pm

Late Night w/ Prince Mfume Ngabdo
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 704479)
Too late. I already gave the email address to my uncle in Nigeria. He's the crown prince. He'll be contacting justacoach shortly. I stand behind him 100%. That's because I want to be able to watch his every move.

Billy, expect a 3AM cell call from country code 225!!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1