The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   correctable error? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/5969-correctable-error.html)

zac Wed Oct 09, 2002 04:00pm

#11 on the part 1 test--If an official erroneously awards a goal on a basket interference call, the error may be corrected untill the referee approves the final score.
My first thought was False, needed to be recognized during the first dead ball after the clock has started. But another ref called this a bookkeeping error which would make it a True statement. What do you think???

mick Wed Oct 09, 2002 04:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by zac
#11 on the part 1 test--If an official erroneously awards a goal on a basket interference call, the error may be corrected untill the referee approves the final score.
My first thought was False, needed to be recognized during the first dead ball after the clock has started. But another ref called this a bookkeeping error which would make it a True statement. What do you think???

zac,
At which rules are you looking for the answer?
mick

zac Wed Oct 09, 2002 04:45pm

Rule # 2-10-2

mick Wed Oct 09, 2002 05:03pm

Quote:

Originally posted by zac
Rule # 2-10-2
Can you prove it with a casebook example?

ranjo Wed Oct 09, 2002 05:56pm

I do not believe this can be called a bookeeping error. I believe it is the officials error and is not correctable unless recognized before time limitations have expired.

I am basing my reply on 2-10-1e and 2-10-2

mick Wed Oct 09, 2002 07:31pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ranjo
I do not believe this can be called a bookeeping error. I believe it is the officials error and is not correctable unless recognized before time limitations have expired.

I am basing my reply on 2-10-1e and 2-10-2


Any further proof, ranjo ?

ranjo Thu Oct 10, 2002 08:09am

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by ranjo
I do not believe this can be called a bookeeping error. I believe it is the officials error and is not correctable unless recognized before time limitations have expired.

I am basing my reply on 2-10-1e and 2-10-2


Any further proof, ranjo ?


Opps - a case book ruling was asked for. You will find the exact scenario in 2.10.1E

This case should now be closed.

[Edited by ranjo on Oct 10th, 2002 at 08:12 AM]

BktBallRef Thu Oct 10, 2002 08:52am

Quote:

Originally posted by zac
#11 on the part 1 test--If an official erroneously awards a goal on a basket interference call, the error may be corrected untill the referee approves the final score.
My first thought was False, needed to be recognized during the first dead ball after the clock has started. But another ref called this a bookkeeping error which would make it a True statement. What do you think???

Who made the error, the socrer or the official?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1