The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Sheepishly, another backcourt question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59613-sheepishly-another-backcourt-question.html)

imagomer Tue Nov 02, 2010 12:57pm

Sheepishly, another backcourt question
 
Please correct my understanding as I try to back up a no-backcourt-call with rules. A1 is dribbling in his front court. Defender B1 bats the ball off A1, then into A1’s backcourt. A1 is first to touch the ball in a1’s backcourt.

I think this is NOT a violation because team control ended when the dribble ended (4-12.1 and .2a), and the dribble ended when the defender touched the ball and caused the dribbler to lose control (4-15.4d). Is this sound reasoning? If so, then please tell me why 4-12.4 does not seem to apply. (4-12-4: while the ball remains live, a loose ball always remains in control of the team whose player last had control, unless it is a try or tap)

Would the ruling change if A1 had accidentally dribbled off B1’s foot, ball touched player from A, ball into backcourt, and A1 is first to touch?

mbyron Tue Nov 02, 2010 12:59pm

Team control does not end when the dribble ends. This IS a backcourt violation.

Adam Tue Nov 02, 2010 01:02pm

Look up the events that end team control.

imagomer Tue Nov 02, 2010 01:06pm

key is "until opponent SECURES control," right?

Adam Tue Nov 02, 2010 01:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by imagomer (Post 699347)
key is "until opponent SECURES control," right?

Yes.

imagomer Tue Nov 02, 2010 01:12pm

thank you.

Multiple Sports Tue Nov 02, 2010 03:03pm

This post should be cancelled now as the answer has been agreed upon !!!!

Adam Tue Nov 02, 2010 03:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Multiple Sports (Post 699373)
This post should be cancelled now as the answer has been agreed upon !!!!

Nah, it's time for snarky responses; or else it will simply die a natural death only to be resurrected in two years when someone has a question about it's accuracy given soon-to-be implemented rule changes.

Multiple Sports Tue Nov 02, 2010 03:16pm

Lmao !!!!!!!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 699376)
Nah, it's time for snarky responses; or else it will simply die a natural death only to be resurrected in two years when someone has a question about it's accuracy given soon-to-be implemented rule changes.

Snags -

I couldn't have said it any better !!!!! I freakin fell off my chair reading your

response.

Over under for this post resurfacing is May of 2012 with legit questions !!!!

CoachP Wed Nov 03, 2010 08:04am

It's not May 2012 yet, but I look at it this way. If A1 is dribbling and B1 bats the ball off A1's leg and the ball rolls OOB.....

Not an exact replica, but it helps the mindset of the rule.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1