The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NCAA Technical Foul (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59606-ncaa-technical-foul.html)

CDurham Mon Nov 01, 2010 08:40pm

NCAA Technical Foul
 
After reviewing the NCAA casebook is resuming play for Technical Fouls by:

- Point of Interruption?

NFHS) Team A has the ball and their Coach is given a Technical Foul. Resuming play would be to award Team B 2 shots and the ball.

NCAA) Same situation. Team B would be given 2 shots, but Team A would be given the ball at the spot closest to where the interruption occurred?

Thanks!

APG Mon Nov 01, 2010 09:07pm

Rule 4
Section 53. Point of Interruption


Art. 1. Point of interruption is the point in a game in which a stoppage in play
occurs. The point of interruption is based on both the location of the ball and the team in control and and is used to determine where to resume play because of:

e. Any technical foul(s). Exceptions: (Men) single contact dead ball technical foul and single flagrant technical foul.

bob jenkins Tue Nov 02, 2010 08:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 699217)
Rule 4
Section 53. Point of Interruption


Art. 1. Point of interruption is the point in a game in which a stoppage in play
occurs. The point of interruption is based on both the location of the ball and the team in control and and is used to determine where to resume play because of:

e. Any technical foul(s). Exceptions: (Men) single contact dead ball technical foul and single flagrant technical foul.

And other exceptions for NCAAW.

Adam Tue Nov 02, 2010 11:38am

So excessive TO isn't "2 shots and the ball" in NCAAM?

Adam Tue Nov 02, 2010 11:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CDurham (Post 699213)
After reviewing the NCAA casebook is resuming play for Technical Fouls by:

- Point of Interruption?

NFHS) Team A has the ball and their Coach is given a Technical Foul. Resuming play would be to award Team B 2 shots and the ball.

NCAA) Same situation. Team B would be given 2 shots, but Team A would be given the ball at the spot closest to where the interruption occurred?

Thanks!

Just to be clear, the ball is put in play at the spot nearest the location of the ball when the interruption occurred; not nearest where the interruption occurred. I think that's what you meant, but wanted to clarify. "where the interruption occurred" would refer to the "location" of the person who committed the technical foul.

CDurham Tue Nov 02, 2010 11:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 699262)
And other exceptions for NCAAW.

Whats the exception for Womens?

bob jenkins Tue Nov 02, 2010 01:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CDurham (Post 699326)
Whats the exception for Womens?

Part of this dpends on whether "POI" is a "location" only or whether it also includes "Team in Control" (or "Team who would have received the ball")

For an excess TO: In NCAAW, the ball is awarded to the offended team; in NCAAM, the Team in Control keeps the ball.

On a Flagrant Foul: for NCAAW, the ball is awarded to the offended team at the POI; for NCAAM it's at the division line.

Single Dead Ball Contact Technical: The term does not apply to NCAAW, but on the concept (Player non-flagrant T) it's POI; in NCAAM, it's at the division line

Failure to have all players return at the same time from a TO: NCAAW, no penalty; NCAAM -- award ball to offended team at POI.

Held ball after a try that misses the ring and "offense" has the arrow: Both resume at POI, but NCAAW does NOT reset the shot clock; NCAAM resets the shot clock

Back In The Saddle Tue Nov 02, 2010 04:15pm

POI, or at least the practical result of POI, also includes the shot clock. For some stoppages where you resume from the POI the shot clock resets, and for others it does not. It's not really part of the "POI rule", but you need to consider it whenever you resume play from the POI.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1