The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Team Control Foul/ Players lined Up? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59386-team-control-foul-players-lined-up.html)

palmettoref Sat Oct 16, 2010 10:53am

Team Control Foul/ Players lined Up?
 
*A1 is fouled in the act of shooting.
*During the first of 2 FT's, A2 fouls B1 before A1 releases the ball.
* Team Control foul on team A.
* A1 is entitled to his 2 FT's.
* B's ball following the make or miss on the last attempt --- either spot throw in or run of end line.

Question -----> do we allow players lined up on the lane for the FT's by A1 since it will be B's ball on the make or miss??

My answer would be NO but I don't have a rule reference to support my decision. HELP??

bob jenkins Sat Oct 16, 2010 10:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by palmettoref (Post 696667)
*A1 is fouled in the act of shooting.
*During the first of 2 FT's, A2 fouls B1 before A1 releases the ball.
* Team Control foul on team A.
* A1 is entitled to his 2 FT's.
* B's ball following the make or miss on the last attempt --- either spot throw in or run of end line.

Question -----> do we allow players lined up on the lane for the FT's by A1 since it will be B's ball on the make or miss??

My answer would be NO but I don't have a rule reference to support my decision. HELP??

You are correct. Since the ball will be dead after A1's second attempt (whether A1 makes it or misses it), then no players line up on the lane.

Ed Maeder Sat Oct 16, 2010 11:29pm

8-1-3

Camron Rust Sun Oct 17, 2010 01:38am

And the location of the ensuing throwin will be the location OOB that is nearest the foul. And, if A2 and B1 were not along the lane, that location might be somewhere other than the endline under the basket where the FTs were being attempted.

Upward ref Mon Oct 18, 2010 09:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by palmettoref (Post 696667)
*A1 is fouled in the act of shooting.
*During the first of 2 FT's, A2 fouls B1 before A1 releases the ball.* Team Control foul on team A.
* A1 is entitled to his 2 FT's.
* B's ball following the make or miss on the last attempt --- either spot throw in or run of end line.

Question -----> do we allow players lined up on the lane for the FT's by A1 since it will be B's ball on the make or miss??

My answer would be NO but I don't have a rule reference to support my decision. HELP??

I think I got that. How about if A2's foul was during or after the A1's release? Basket doesn't count , A1 gets 2nd shot with the lane cleared , throw in for B?

tref Mon Oct 18, 2010 09:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Upward ref (Post 696805)
I think I got that. How about if A2's foul was during or after the A1's release? Basket doesn't count , A1 gets 2nd shot with the lane cleared , throw in for B?

If the FT is released prior to A2s foul then we count the FT.

Upward ref Mon Oct 18, 2010 10:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 696809)
If the FT is released prior to A2s foul then we count the FT.

I guess you'll have to tell me why?
I must be confusing a free throw violation by the throwers team ,and a foul by the throwers team. I'm looking at 9-1-penalty 1 ,ball is dead and no point can be scored ....... .
Is team control a factor?

tref Mon Oct 18, 2010 10:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Upward ref (Post 696820)
I guess you'll have to tell me why?
I must be confusing a free throw violation by the throwers team ,and a foul by the throwers team. I'm looking at 9-1-penalty 1 ,ball is dead and no point can be scored ....... .
Is team control a factor?

9.1.3 Situation I.

Yes, t/c has ended when the try is released.

Upward ref Mon Oct 18, 2010 10:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 696827)
9.1.3 Situation I.

Yes, t/c has ended when the try is released.

9.1.3 I is a little different. foul by B ,not A1's teammate .

Raymond Mon Oct 18, 2010 10:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Upward ref (Post 696833)
9.1.3 I is a little different. foul by B ,not A1's teammate .

Once a try is released a foul by the offensive team does not kill the play. But a violation does.

bob jenkins Mon Oct 18, 2010 11:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Upward ref (Post 696820)
I guess you'll have to tell me why?

When does the ball become dead on a foul by A? See 6-7, especially including the exceptions.

Answer that and you'll have your answer.

Upward ref Mon Oct 18, 2010 11:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 696839)
When does the ball become dead on a foul by A? See 6-7, especially including the exceptions.

Answer that and you'll have your answer.

Guaranteed thats todays study, thanks.;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1