The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 02, 2002, 07:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 229
I had a couple of rules I needed to get clarification on in Rule 5.

1. Rule 5.2.5 When play is resumed with a throw-in or free throw and three-tenths of a second or less remain on the clock, no field goal may be scored by a try for a goal. In this situation a tap could score.

Does this mean that a tap is the only way to score? If so, what is the logic here? I think I know, but I want to make sure I am reading it correctly.

2. Rule 5.7.4 Once the ball becomes live in the extra period, it will be played even though a correction in the fourth quarter score is made. If the ball is live again, how can a correction be made in the score? Would this be a clerical error on the scorer's part? Why would you continue playing the period?
__________________
Strange women, lying in ponds, distributing swords is no basis for a system of government. If I went around claiming I was an emperor just because some moistened bink lobbed a scimitar at me, they would put me away.
-Monty Python-
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1