The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Travelling (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/590-travelling.html)

Bull Run Ref Wed Mar 29, 2000 01:00am

A1 passes to A2 who tips the ball on the run and catches it after taking several steps. The ball does not hit the floor. Is this travelling? Can he catch it and then dribble? Or is A2 allowed to this because they did not have possession.

Bart Tyson Wed Mar 29, 2000 02:10pm

Legal play. Player has to have Player Control to travel. Sometimes where the travel comes in is when player fumbles, gains control(on the run) and doesn't get the ball down for a dribble before he picks up his Pivot foot because he is moving too fast.

mick Wed Mar 29, 2000 02:41pm

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Geneva">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Bull Run Ref:
A1 passes to A2 who tips the ball on the run and catches it after taking several steps. The ball does not hit the floor. Is this travelling? Can he catch it and then dribble? Or is A2 allowed to this because they did not have possession.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Bull Run,
If it was judged to be a "controlled tip", an official may also think it to be a pass to oneself. That play could happen with several variables, which could affect the call or no-call.
mick



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1