The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   In a sentence (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/58801-sentence.html)

bainsey Fri Aug 06, 2010 12:25pm

In a sentence
 
I'm trying to phrase a rule in one sentence for someone. Tell me if you think this works....

"Touching an opponent's dribble doesn't end that dribble if player control is not lost."

JRutledge Fri Aug 06, 2010 12:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 687991)
I'm trying to phrase a rule in one sentence for someone. Tell me if you think this works....

"Touching an opponent's dribble doesn't end that dribble if player control is not lost."

That would not work. They clarified that if the ball is touched by an opponent, then the dribble has ended. So that sentence would be wrong.

Peace

MD Longhorn Fri Aug 06, 2010 12:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 687991)
I'm trying to phrase a rule in one sentence for someone. Tell me if you think this works....

"Touching an opponent's dribble doesn't end that dribble if player control is not lost."

Oh, that's easy. False. Next question?

bainsey Fri Aug 06, 2010 01:21pm

Okay then. Here's the question that spurned it all...

While A–1 is dribbling past an opponent the ball touches the opponent without loss of control by A–1. A–1 catches the ball and starts another dribble. Official rules this a legal play. Is the official correct?

A YES answer was judged to be incorrect. Who can come up with a sentence why?

mbyron Fri Aug 06, 2010 01:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 687995)
That would not work. They clarified that if the ball is touched by an opponent, then the dribble has ended. So that sentence would be wrong.

Peace

Reference, please. The plain language of 4-15-4(d) backs up bainsey:

"The dribble ends when...
(d) The ball touches or is touched by an opponent and causes the dribbler to
lose control."

SamIAm Fri Aug 06, 2010 02:14pm

[QUOTE=bainsey;688001]Okay then. Here's the question that spurned it all...

While A–1 is dribbling past an opponent the ball touches the opponent without loss of control by A–1. A–1 catches the ball and starts another dribble. Official rules this a legal play. Is the official correct? QUOTE]

"Without loss of control" is a htbt. Similar to "contact occurred", was there a foul?

MD Longhorn Fri Aug 06, 2010 02:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 688007)
"Without loss of control" is a htbt. Similar to "contact occurred", was there a foul?

Well that didn't make any sense.

When "without loss of control" is part of the question, it's being GIVEN to you that whoever was ruling on the play felt it was without loss of control. Kind of hard to "be there" when the hypothetical is from a test or quiz question, or approved ruling, or such.

Scrapper1 Fri Aug 06, 2010 03:00pm

The clarification that came out a couple years ago was that the loss of control that ended a dribble could occur due to any type of contact by an opponent. Previously, the rule stated that the dribble ended when loss of control was caused by an opponent batting the ball, specifically requiring an intentional use of the opponent's hands.

Loss of control has always been needed (for this part of the rule) to end the dribble. Now, however, any type of contact by an opponent can cause the loss of control, and thus end the dribble.

So in the original question, since the official judged that the dribbler never lost player control, the dribble did not end. This ruling would have been correct even without the clarification.

MD Longhorn Fri Aug 06, 2010 03:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 687991)
"Touching an opponent's dribble doesn't end that dribble if player control is not lost."

"An opponent touching a dribble doesn't end that dribble unless player control is lost."

SamIAm Fri Aug 06, 2010 03:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 688008)
Well that didn't make any sense.

When "without loss of control" is part of the question, it's being GIVEN to you that whoever was ruling on the play felt it was without loss of control. Kind of hard to "be there" when the hypothetical is from a test or quiz question, or approved ruling, or such.

I see your point.
I was thinking more along the lines of judging loss of control. That seems very difficult. If one can see whether the ball was touched or deflected, it should be noticable the ball did not go where the dribbler propelled the ball, albeit possibly only a slight deflection. Without seeing a play to judge, I would lean toward loss of control being a usual occurrence in this situation.

BillyMac Fri Aug 06, 2010 06:55pm

What ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 688009)
The clarification that came out a couple years ago was that the loss of control that ended a dribble could occur due to any type of contact by an opponent.

Reference please.

If a player ends his dribble, and then reaches out with two hands on the ball and touches the jersey of an opponent with the ball, then he can legally start another dribble?

JRutledge Fri Aug 06, 2010 07:14pm

I guess I cannot imagine you touching the ball and not losing the dribble. I would think based on the rhythm of the action that would be disrupt that action and cause some sort of control loss. And I would not use a statement that might apply to a very rare situation where control is not lost. Stick with the rule and stop always trying to find a term that applies to everything. Very rare is that going to ever apply.

Peace

sseltser Fri Aug 06, 2010 07:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 688028)
Reference please.

If a player ends his dribble, and then reaches out with two hands on the ball and touches the jersey of an opponent with the ball, then he can legally start another dribble?

I don't have a reference; sorry.

But in your play, A1 never loses control (he was holding it the whole time).

The clarification (I believe it was listed as an editorial change) made it so that any time there is a loss of player control and the ball touches another player, then the dribble ends.

In other words, instead of the requirement being loss of control and B1 batting the ball, now the requirement is merely touching. The reason it was listed as an editorial change is because the "change" is consistent with the way the game has been called for years.

Scrapper1 Fri Aug 06, 2010 09:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 688028)
Reference please.

If a player ends his dribble, and then reaches out with two hands on the ball and touches the jersey of an opponent with the ball, then he can legally start another dribble?

You highlighted the wrong part of my response.

Quote:

The clarification that came out a couple years ago was that the loss of control that ended a dribble could occur due to any type of contact by an opponent.
Holding the ball and touching the ball to another player is not a loss of player control. So the answer to your question is "no".

Mark Padgett Fri Aug 06, 2010 09:44pm

Let me throw this into the mix just to confuse things even more. A1 is dribbling the ball. B1 touches the ball. During the time that B1 is touching the ball, A1 fouls B1. Would you call a player control foul on A1? Remember - player control is defined as holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds.

Scrapper1 Fri Aug 06, 2010 09:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 688040)
Let me throw this into the mix just to confuse things even more. A1 is dribbling the ball. B1 touches the ball. During the time that B1 is touching the ball, A1 fouls B1. Would you call a player control foul on A1? Remember - player control is defined as holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds.

You haven't given us enough information. Did B1's touch cause A1 to lose player control? It's just a technicality, in any case, because even if A1 did lose player control, it's still a team control foul (assuming it's not intentional or flagrant; in which case, again, player control is just a technicality). Same penalty.

bainsey Sat Aug 07, 2010 08:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 688011)
"An opponent touching a dribble doesn't end that dribble unless player control is lost."

I think that's the sentence that sums up the question, and why it's not legal.

BillyMac Sat Aug 07, 2010 10:17am

Confused ???
 
I'm sorry guys, but I'm just a little confused by this thread.

A1 is dribbling the ball, and decides to pick up his dribble with two hands firmly on the ball, thus ending the dribble. Defender B1 reaches in and attempts to steal the ball from A1, but A1 is able to pull the ball away from B1 and B1 is only able to lightly touch the ball. A1 does not lose the ball, but is able to keep two hands on the ball. Three-quarters of a second later, A1 decides to start a new dribble. I've got an illegal dribble violation here. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

Now let's get really "weird" here. A2 picks up her dribble, thus ending the dribble. During a pivot, A2 somehow fumbles the ball, which takes a few bounces on the floor, and also accidentally hits defender B2 in the back of the leg. A2 now picks up the ball. A2 decides at this point to start a new dribble. What do you have here?

Mark Padgett Sat Aug 07, 2010 11:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 688041)
You haven't given us enough information. Did B1's touch cause A1 to lose player control?

That was my point. Did it or didn't it? That's kind of the whole issue on this thread.

mbyron Sat Aug 07, 2010 11:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 688056)
I'm sorry guys, but I'm just a little confused by this thread.

A1 is dribbling the ball, and decides to pick up his dribble with two hands firmly on the ball, thus ending the dribble. Defender B1 reaches in and attempts to steal the ball from A1, but A1 is able to pull the ball away from B1 and B1 is only able to lightly touch the ball. A1 does not lose the ball, but is able to keep two hands on the ball. Three-quarters of a second later, A1 decides to start a new dribble. I've got an illegal dribble violation here. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

Now let's get really "weird" here. A2 picks up her dribble, thus ending the dribble. During a pivot, A1 somehow fumbles the ball, which takes a few bounces on the floor, and also accidentally hits defender B2 in the back of the leg, before A1 re-establishes possession of the ball. A2 decides at this point to start a new dribble. What do you have here?

BillyMac, each of the provisions of 4-15-4 is SUFFICIENT to end the dribble -- it's never the case that you need all of them or even more than one. So once the dribble ends for ANY reason, it's illegal to start a new dribble.

So in your first play, the dribble ends by 4-15-4(a). When the player holding the ball begins a new dribble, the second dribble is illegal. The provisions of 4-15-4(d) -- and the opponent touching the ball -- don't enter this play, since the dribble has already ended before an opponent touches the ball.

Your second play meets the requirements of 9-5-3, and is thus a legal dribble.

BillyMac Sat Aug 07, 2010 12:24pm

Pass Or Fumble ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 688059)
Your second play meets the requirements of 9-5-3, and is thus a legal dribble.

NFHS 9-5: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:
ART. 1 . . . A try for field goal.
ART. 2 . . . A touch by an opponent.
ART. 3 . . . A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by, another player.

mbyron: Thanks.

Scrapper1 Sat Aug 07, 2010 01:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 688058)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Did B1's touch cause A1 to lose player control?

That was my point. Did it or didn't it? That's kind of the whole issue on this thread.

In all honestly, I don't think that's the issue at all in this thread. The reason I say that is that bainsey's original question was prompted by the test question in Post #4; and that question tells us that player control was never lost. So the issue in the thread is not whether player control was lost, but whether an opponent's touch of the ball -- without loss of control by the dribbler -- ends the dribble.

mbyron Sat Aug 07, 2010 06:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 688065)
NFHS 9-5: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:
ART. 1 . . . A try for field goal.
ART. 2 . . . A touch by an opponent.
ART. 3 . . . A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by, another player.

mbyron: Thanks.

Your welcome. ;)

Notice that 9-5-3 is satisfied when the passed or fumbled ball touches or is touched by another player. That player need not be an opponent.

Nevadaref Mon Aug 09, 2010 11:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 688078)
Your welcome. ;)

:eek: This kind of mistake is not expected from you! :D

Nevadaref Mon Aug 09, 2010 11:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 687995)
That would not work. They clarified that if the ball is touched by an opponent, then the dribble has ended. So that sentence would be wrong.

Peace

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 688002)
Reference, please. The plain language of 4-15-4(d) backs up bainsey:

"The dribble ends when...
(d) The ball touches or is touched by an opponent and causes the dribbler to
lose control."

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 688029)
I guess I cannot imagine you touching the ball and not losing the dribble. I would think based on the rhythm of the action that would be disrupt that action and cause some sort of control loss. And I would not use a statement that might apply to a very rare situation where control is not lost. Stick with the rule and stop always trying to find a term that applies to everything. Very rare is that going to ever apply.

Peace

Please just admit that you were wrong about the rule, for once, and then move on.

mbyron Tue Aug 10, 2010 08:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 688298)
:eek: This kind of mistake is not expected from you! :D

Apologies. We have a new baby in the household, and I'm operating on limited sleep. :eek:

Jurassic Referee Tue Aug 10, 2010 08:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 688323)
Apologies. We have a new baby in the household, and I'm operating on limited sleep. :eek:

At what point does it become an old baby? :confused:

mbyron Tue Aug 10, 2010 08:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 688325)
At what point does it become an old baby? :confused:

You tell me, you old baby. :p

Jurassic Referee Tue Aug 10, 2010 08:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 688328)
You tell me, you old baby. :p

Lot of truth in that. I wake up about 6 times a night crying and having to go pee. :p

Congratulations, Mike, and enjoy the hell out of him/her. Boy or girl?

bainsey Tue Aug 10, 2010 08:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 688323)
Apologies. We have a new baby in the household, and I'm operating on limited sleep. :eek:

Congrats! And yes, right now, sleep is more prescious than a plum assignment.

just another ref Tue Aug 10, 2010 02:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 688365)
We were not talking about a rule, we were talking about a statement.


True. You said the statement was wrong.

But you were wrong.

JRutledge Tue Aug 10, 2010 02:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 688366)
True. You said the statement was wrong.

But you were wrong.

They statement was wrong as an all or nothing statement. Which is why those do not work very well to learn rules. There are often exceptions to such statements. And when you can come up with exceptions, then the statement does not work. If you want to say that is wrong, then so be it. Once again I do not have to deal with you outside of this board, so what you think ultimately means little. Take it for what it is worth and move on yourself.

Peace

just another ref Tue Aug 10, 2010 02:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 688367)
They statement was wrong as an all or nothing statement. Which is why those do not work very well to learn rules. There are often exceptions to such statements.

What is the exception to this statement?

just another ref Tue Aug 10, 2010 03:34pm

For those less familiar with the subject, this rule was changed a few years ago after a lengthy discussion we had about it. Formerly, it stated only a bat by an opponent ended the dribble, but it now reads that the dribble ends when "the ball touches or is touched by the opponent and causes the dribbler to lose control."

For what it is worth, I do agree with what I think Rut is saying, that it would be rare for the touch by an opponent not to end the dribble, and the benefit of the doubt should be given to the dribbler.

But the original statement by bainsey in the OP is unquestionably true, and there is no exception.

Nevadaref Tue Aug 10, 2010 08:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 688368)
What is the exception to this statement?

There aren't any exceptions to the original statement by bainsey. What he wrote is 100% true according to the NFHS rule. Rut is simply incorrect.

Adam Wed Aug 11, 2010 09:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 688405)
There aren't any exceptions to the original statement by bainsey. What he wrote is 100% true according to the NFHS rule. Rut is simply incorrect.

I can't think of any exceptions either.

Hornets222003 Wed Aug 11, 2010 11:45am

I'm glad that you guys are having this discussion

Last season I had a play where A1 was dribbling, decided to cross over, but instead of crossing over with a dribble, he just changed hands with the ball (it was an intramural game so you can guess at the skill level of the player). During the changing of hands, B1 reached in and touched the ball, but it did not cause A1 to lose control of the ball. As soon as he took another dribble, I called the illegal dribble violation. He looked at me and said, "but he touched it."

Later I asked an official who was my senior if I had made the wrong call with the touch, and he said yes, "the dribble ends if the ball is touched by an opponent."

This post clarifies a lot for me, and lets me know that I made the right call originally.

Adam Thu Aug 12, 2010 09:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hornets222003 (Post 688451)
I'm glad that you guys are having this discussion

Last season I had a play where A1 was dribbling, decided to cross over, but instead of crossing over with a dribble, he just changed hands with the ball (it was an intramural game so you can guess at the skill level of the player). During the changing of hands, B1 reached in and touched the ball, but it did not cause A1 to lose control of the ball. As soon as he took another dribble, I called the illegal dribble violation. He looked at me and said, "but he touched it."

Later I asked an official who was my senior if I had made the wrong call with the touch, and he said yes, "the dribble ends if the ball is touched by an opponent."

This post clarifies a lot for me, and lets me know that I made the right call originally.


I'm confused. At what point did A1 end his dribble so that an illegal dribble would be called?

JRutledge Thu Aug 12, 2010 09:58am

I have never seen a player dribble the ball and have an opponent (especially purposely) touch the ball and not lose some control of the ball. Now I guess it is your judgment if control is lost, but I have yet to see this. Then again I do not officiate intermural ball, so I am sure all kinds of things take place there I will never see. ;)

Peace

Jurassic Referee Thu Aug 12, 2010 10:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 688544)
I'm confused. At what point did A1 end his dribble so that an illegal dribble would be called?

I think...emphasis on "think"....that he's saying that A1 touched the ball with both hands during the same dribble, with one touch each before and after the defensive touch.

Hornets222003 Thu Aug 12, 2010 11:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 688557)
I think...emphasis on "think"....that he's saying that A1 touched the ball with both hands during the same dribble, with one touch each before and after the defensive touch.

That is exactly what happened.

Adam Thu Aug 12, 2010 12:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 688557)
I think...emphasis on "think"....that he's saying that A1 touched the ball with both hands during the same dribble, with one touch each before and after the defensive touch.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hornets222003 (Post 688559)
That is exactly what happened.

This makes my brain hurt.
Did A1 catch the ball after B1 touched it, then proceed to start a new dribble?
I'm trying to picture JR's scenario, and I can't imagine the sort of ball movement necessary for that to happen would not cause me to consider control lost, even momentarily.

Jurassic Referee Thu Aug 12, 2010 01:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 688565)
This makes my brain hurt.
Did A1 catch the ball after B1 touched it, then proceed to start a new dribble?
I'm trying to picture JR's scenario, and I can't imagine the sort of ball movement necessary for that to happen would not cause me to consider control lost, even momentarily.

A1 was dribbling with his right hand.....B1 touched the ball during this dribble after the ball left the dribbler's right hand but the touch did not cause A1 to lose control....A1 then touched the ball with his left hand after the defensive touch but before the dribbled ball hit the floor. Iow, A1 touched the ball twice during the same dribble. Always a judgment call but if the official rules that the defensive touching didn't cause the dribbler to lose control, then the dribble never ended and the dribbler is called for touching the ball twice during the same dribble. Correct call by rule.

Adam Thu Aug 12, 2010 01:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 688567)
A1 was dribbling with his right hand.....B1 touched the ball during this dribble after the ball left the dribbler's right hand but the touch did not cause A1 to lose control....A1 then touched the ball with his left hand after the defensive touch but before the dribbled ball hit the floor. Iow, A1 touched the ball twice during the same dribble. Always a judgment call but if the official rules that the defensive touching didn't cause the dribbler to lose control, then the dribble never ended and the dribbler is called for touching the ball twice during the same dribble. Correct call by rule.

Okay, I'm picturing this now. I'm with Rut, only in intramural ball.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1