The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Misunderstood Rules (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/58720-misunderstood-rules.html)

JRutledge Wed Aug 04, 2010 02:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tomegun (Post 687877)
The correct penalty for slapping the backboard without making a legit block attempt. How many people see officials count the basket?

I do not see many officials do this. Maybe this is one of these things where most I have seen know the rule. The last time I saw this called like that was at a summer league probably over 10 years ago. That does not mean that officials are not kicking this, but I just have not seen it. Maybe our associations are doing a good job to teach this rule and it would be unacceptable to call anything else.

Peace

Raymond Wed Aug 04, 2010 03:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tomegun (Post 687877)
How about continuation? Coaches, fans, and a lot of officials don't understand it. Sure, in an educational setting many officials will say they understand, but will then go out and call a continuation play "on the floor."

The correct penalty for slapping the backboard without making a legit block attempt. How many people see officials count the basket?

I still know officials who argue about this.

APG Wed Aug 04, 2010 03:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tomegun (Post 687877)
How about continuation? Coaches, fans, and a lot of officials don't understand it. Sure, in an educational setting many officials will say they understand, but will then go out and call a continuation play "on the floor."

The correct penalty for slapping the backboard without making a legit block attempt. How many people see officials count the basket?

+1

"This ain't the NBA," is a line I've heard often whenever a coach/official disagree with a continuation play. It's also especially difficult whenever one calls a continuation play at one end of the court, and your partner(s) is/are saying "on the floor" on the other end.

JRutledge Wed Aug 04, 2010 03:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 687882)
+1

"This ain't the NBA," is a line I've heard often whenever a coach/official disagree with a continuation play. It's also especially difficult whenever one calls a continuation play at one end of the court, and your partner(s) is/are saying "on the floor" on the other end.

I tell them, "The rule is practically the same." Which from my understanding it is and that usually shuts them up on the spot.

Peace

APG Wed Aug 04, 2010 03:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 687883)
I tell them, "The rule is practically the same." Which from my understanding it is and that usually shuts them up on the spot.

Peace

I'll use that line on a coach. Either that or I'll quote the rule and that will quiet the coach. Can't argue with a rule they don't understand! ;)

tomegun Wed Aug 04, 2010 04:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 687883)
I tell them, "The rule is practically the same." Which from my understanding it is and that usually shuts them up on the spot.

Peace

As far as I know it is too. Now if we could just get officials at the high school and college level to apply it consistently...

Raymond Wed Aug 04, 2010 09:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 687883)
I tell them, "The rule is practically the same." Which from my understanding it is and that usually shuts them up on the spot.

Peace

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 687885)
I'll use that line on a coach. Either that or I'll quote the rule and that will quiet the coach. Can't argue with a rule they don't understand! ;)

I did use that line on a coach once and he sarcastically repeated it to my partner.

Upward ref Thu Aug 19, 2010 11:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 687867)
Steve, here are the criteria for a BC violation. All must be met in order.

1. Team control must be established.
2. The ball must gain Front Court status.
3. The team in control must be the last to touch the ball before it gains Back Court status.
4. The team in control must be the first to touch the ball after it gains back court status.

The situation that gets coaches and crowds upset is when the defense tips a ball in the front court; but before it goes into the back court it touches an offensive player. Sort of the "double tip" situation.

in that instance ( "double tip") ; team control was lost with the defensive tip and not reestablished with the offensive tip so no violation. correct ?

Adam Thu Aug 19, 2010 11:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Upward ref (Post 689209)
in that instance ( "double tip") ; team control was lost with the defensive tip and not reestablished with the offensive tip so no violation. correct ?

Not correct. Here's a exercise that should help, complete the below sentence:

Team control, once established, continues until....

APG Thu Aug 19, 2010 05:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Upward ref (Post 689209)
in that instance ( "double tip") ; team control was lost with the defensive tip and not reestablished with the offensive tip so no violation. correct ?

You're thinking of the NBA definition of team control which ends when the defense deflects the ball. Under NCAA and NFHS rules, team control does not end when the defense deflects the ball.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1