The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Rules differences (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/58702-rules-differences.html)

Mark Padgett Tue Jul 27, 2010 02:56pm

Rules differences
 
Got an email from an old friend who did a tournament in the mid-west this past weekend. They were using NF rules and he had three situations in which he had to "wave off" baskets because of the shooter committing an offensive foul - all three times after the release. He got some flack from two different coaches who normally don't coach under NF rules. I thought it might be interesting if we just listed the differences between NF, NCAA mens, NCAA womens, NBA and FIBA rules on this play: shooter is airborne and releases a shot. Shooter then comes down on defender who had established position prior to shooter becoming airborne and an offensive foul is called on the shooter. Under which rule sets (if any) would the shot count if it went in? Would it matter if the shot went in before or after the contact?

bob jenkins Tue Jul 27, 2010 03:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 686788)
Got an email from an old friend who did a tournament in the mid-west this past weekend. They were using NF rules and he had three situations in which he had to "wave off" baskets because of the shooter committing an offensive foul - all three times after the release. He got some flack from two different coaches who normally don't coach under NF rules. I thought it might be interesting if we just listed the differences between NF, NCAA mens, NCAA womens, NBA and FIBA rules on this play: shooter is airborne and releases a shot. Shooter then comes down on defender who had established position prior to shooter becoming airborne and an offensive foul is called on the shooter. Under which rule sets (if any) would the shot count if it went in? Would it matter if the shot went in before or after the contact?

Counts in NCAAM, not in NCAAW or FED. Doesn't matter whether the shot went in before or after the contact (it does matter whether the shot was relaeased prior to the contact -- if not, then the basket doesn't count under NCAAM).

Lotto Tue Jul 27, 2010 04:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 686792)
Counts in NCAAM, not in NCAAW or FED. Doesn't matter whether the shot went in before or after the contact (it does matter whether the shot was relaeased prior to the contact -- if not, then the basket doesn't count under NCAAM).

In NCAAW, the shot doesn't count if the foul is committed by an airborne shooter. If the shooter returns to the floor and then commits the foul, the shot would count. This would not be a player or team control foul.

APG Tue Jul 27, 2010 05:30pm

NBA Casebook (2009-2010)

211. While rebounding at his own basket, Player A1 tips the ball into his basket immediately before, during or after he commits a loose ball foul. What is the procedure?

Player A1 is charged with a personal foul and Team A with a team foul. No points may be scored and Team B will inbound the ball at the free throw line extended if the penalty situation does not exist. If the penalty is in effect, the offended player will attempt two free throws.
RULE 12B - SECTION VIII - d

Rule 12B Section VII
d. If a “loose ball” foul called against the offensive team is then followed by a successful field goal attempt by the same offensive player, no points may be scored.

JugglingReferee Wed Jul 28, 2010 12:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 686788)
Got an email from an old friend who did a tournament in the mid-west this past weekend. They were using NF rules and he had three situations in which he had to "wave off" baskets because of the shooter committing an offensive foul - all three times after the release. He got some flack from two different coaches who normally don't coach under NF rules. I thought it might be interesting if we just listed the differences between NF, NCAA mens, NCAA womens, NBA and FIBA rules on this play: shooter is airborne and releases a shot. Shooter then comes down on defender who had established position prior to shooter becoming airborne and an offensive foul is called on the shooter. Under which rule sets (if any) would the shot count if it went in? Would it matter if the shot went in before or after the contact?

FIBA: count it.

bob jenkins Wed Jul 28, 2010 07:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lotto (Post 686793)
If the shooter returns to the floor and then commits the foul, the shot would count. This would not be a player or team control foul.

Correct, but Mark specifically said "shooter is airborne." Note that he did NOT specify "airborne shooter."

GoodwillRef Wed Jul 28, 2010 10:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lotto (Post 686793)
In NCAAW, the shot doesn't count if the foul is committed by an airborne shooter. If the shooter returns to the floor and then commits the foul, the shot would count. This would not be a player or team control foul.

How often do we see this?

Judtech Wed Jul 28, 2010 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoodwillRef (Post 686901)
How often do we see this?

And by SEE do you mean 'see'? :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1